Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations

    New appointments to the Infrastructure WA Board

    21/12/2022 1:05 PM
    • Hon Jay Weatherill AO and Dr Richard Walley OAM appointed as Board members
    • Mr Peter Woronzow re-appointed as a Board member
    • Terms of appointment to run until 31 December 2027

    The State Government has appointed Hon Jay Weatherill AO and Dr Richard Walley OAM as new members to the Infrastructure WA Board, commencing their roles from 1 January 2023.


    Hon Jay Weatherill AO has served as the 45th Premier of South Australia as well as an elected member of Parliament for 16 years until 2018. During this time Hon Weatherill held a range of portfolios, including Treasury, State Development, Education and the Environment. Hon Weatherill is currently a Director at Thrive by Five.


    Dr Richard Walley OAM is a Nyoongar man of the South-West region and statesperson. Dr Walley is a working director of his family-owned business, Aboriginal Productions and Promotions, is a co-director of Danjoo Koorliny, and lectures on Aboriginal culture at the University of Western Australia. Dr Walley has extensive experience as a cultural consultant and was WA's Senior Australian of the Year in 2021 for his work in supporting and promoting Aboriginal culture and community.


    Mr Peter Woronzow has also been re-appointed for a further term as a member of the Board.


    Infrastructure WA (IWA), which was a key election commitment of the McGowan Labor Government, provides an advisory and assistance role to the State Government on infrastructure related matters to drive Western Australia's economy and create jobs.


    IWA is overseen by an independent board comprising of up to 10 members, combining the expertise of both the public and private sectors, and provides strategic policy direction and oversight of major infrastructure proposal investment decisions.


    Premier Mark McGowan MLA and Chairperson Nicole Lockwood paid tribute to the two outgoing members, Ms Andrea Sutton and Mr Wayne Zekulich, who were both appointed in 2019 as part of the inaugural Board.


    Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


    "I would like to thank outgoing members Ms Sutton and Mr Zekulich for their commitment to the Infrastructure WA Board, especially through the process of developing WA's first long-term infrastructure strategy.


    "I congratulate Hon Weatherill and Dr Walley on their appointments, bringing their diverse expertise and experiences to the Board, and contributing to the guidance of the IWA team through their next phase of work. My congratulations also go to Mr Woronzow on his re-appointment to the Board."


    Comments attributed to the Infrastructure WA Board Chairperson Nicole Lockwood:


    "The Board and myself are pleased to have Hon Jay Weatherill AO and Dr Richard Walley OAM joining us in the new year, as well as for Mr Peter Woronzow to return for another term.


    "I would like to express my gratitude to Andrea and Wayne for the last three and a half years with the IWA Board. Their contributions, particularly to the inaugural State Infrastructure Strategy have been invaluable."


    Premier's office - 6552 5000