Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations

Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Minister for Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage

    Distinguished WA artists honoured at State Cultural Treasures Awards 2022

    7/12/2022 7:00 PM
    • Seven exceptional individuals and one organisation recognised by the State across eight categories, including new category, Community Impact
    • State Cultural Treasures Awards (formerly State Living Treasures) running since 1998 with 38 winners to date
    • 23 individual and 10 organisation nominations were received for the 2022 awards

    Distinguished Western Australian artists have been recognised for their outstanding, lifelong contributions to the WA arts sector and community at the State Cultural Treasures Awards in Perth.


    The ceremony, which took place at the Government House Ballroom on 7 December, also saw one organisation recognised for its impact on the community.


    Among those honoured was writer Kim Scott, a descendent of the Wirtomin Noongar people, who grew up near Kinjarling/Albany. One of Australia's greatest writers, Kim is a gifted educator and has dedicated himself to reclaiming Noongar culture and language. He was named the inaugural Western Australian of the Year in 2012 and inducted into the Western Australian Writers Hall of Fame in 2020. 


    The Nannup Music Festival organisation was honoured for its community impact. The festival has gone from strength to strength since its inception in 1990 and is now an annual four-day event that deeply enriches the WA music community.


    The other 2022 award recipients honoured were:

    • Chris Hill for Design;
    • Ernie Dingo AM for Theatre and Film;
    • Helen Matthews for Music;
    • Helicopter Tjungurrayi for Visual Arts;
    • Terri Charlesworth OAM for Dance; and
    • Wayne Jowandi Barker for Community Impact (Individual).

    The first ever State Cultural Treasures Awards (formerly State Living Treasures Awards) took place in 1998 to honour senior WA artists who had made a lifelong contribution to their art form and their community. The awards have been presented in 1998, 2004 and 2015.


    To read more about the winners visit the DLGSC website:  https://www.dlgsc.wa.gov.au/culture-and-the-arts/State-Cultural-Treasures-Awards


    Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


    "The 2022 State Cultural Treasures Awards celebrate and honour senior Western Australian artists and organisations who have made outstanding lifelong contributions to their artform and community.


    "The 2022 list of award recipients is testament to the cultural and geographical diversity of our vast State, and our recipients' work and careers have provided a long-lasting legacy to the arts and cultural landscape within Western Australia.


    "Each of the 2022 recipients has inspired audiences and communities alike in sharing stories which profoundly reflect our Western Australian identity.


    "My congratulations go to each of the 2022 State Cultural Treasure Award recipients, along with my deepest gratitude and appreciation for their profound contribution to the Western Australian communities in which they have created, worked, and lived."


    Comments attributed to Culture and the Arts Minister David Templeman:


    "The State Cultural Treasures Awards were inaugurated in 1998 to honour outstanding senior Western Australian artists, and a total of 38 Western Australians have been honoured to date.


    "Our recipients for 2022 reflect a diverse range of artforms, including visual arts, dance, design, music, theatre and film, writing and community impact, and recognise the extraordinary talent and breadth of our homegrown artists.


    "It is evident through the nominations that we have received that Western Australia is home to some truly outstanding artists and artistic organisations.


    "My sincere congratulations to all of the 2022 recipients for their outstanding artistic output and contribution to a vibrant, dynamic and inclusive Western Australian arts community."


    Premier's office - 6552 5000

    Culture and the Arts Minister's office - 6552 5400