Hon Rita Saffioti BBus MLA

Hon Rita Saffioti BBus MLA

Minister for Transport; Planning; Ports

    Your Move Awards celebrate active transport champions

    3/11/2022 11:35 AM
    • Your Move Awards celebrate schools, local governments, and workplaces helping the community use active transport more often
    • 42 nominations received for activities and projects that took place in 2021 and 2022
    • McGowan Government facilitating investment of $347 million in walking and riding infrastructure over the next four years

    Schools, workplaces, and individuals have been recognised across eight categories at the 2022 Your Move Awards for their efforts to promote walking, bike riding, and public transport use in the community.


    Your Move is a free program - run by the Department of Transport - which provides information and support to help people find more active, healthy ways to get around.


    Albany Primary School was a major winner in the awards, taking out both the Innovate and School Team category for their Your Move project, which saw the school community come together to create the City of Albany's first mountain bike trail on school grounds.


    Bethesda Health Care also scored two wins for their inclusive cycling activity that raised close to $4,500 for children's medical research and championing active transport activities.


    Scarborough Primary School took out the Achieve School category for strong parent support and commitment to the Your Move program, while Annita Wenban from Bramfield Park Primary School was an individual award winner for embedding the Your Move program into the school's business plan.


    The Shire of Broome's Conti Foreshore Shared Path, Stage 1 was a winner in the Western Australian Bicycle Network (WABN) category, recognised for making the Jetty to Jetty trail and public art more accessible. The City of Kalamunda High Wycombe Shared Path took out the WABN metropolitan category.


    There are currently 47 workplaces, 26 local governments, and 185 schools from metropolitan and regional areas across Western Australia actively participating in the Your Move program.

    For more information about the Your Move program and award winners, visit https://yourmove.org.au


    Comments attributed to Transport Minister Rita Saffioti:


    "It's great to see the innovative and creative ways the award winners are embracing active transport and helping to reduce car use in their communities and workplaces.


    "The awards recognise the achievements of partners in the Your Move community and the effort, time, and enthusiasm they have put into making a difference. 


    "The award winners show that starting with small things like social group rides or fundraising activity days are great ways to help encourage people to swap some car trips for walking, riding bikes, scooting, and catching public transport.


    "Our Government is facilitating a record $347 million dollar investment in active transport infrastructure over the next four years, making it even easier for us to get around on our bikes or by foot.


    "Programs like Your Move are critical in maximising the benefits of our infrastructure investments by helping people to use more active ways to travel on a regular basis."


    Minister's office - 6552 5500  


    The winners of the 2022 Your Move Awards are:


    Achieve category

    School – Scarborough Primary School

    Workplace – Bethesda Health Care


    Innovate category

    School – Albany Primary School


    Champion category

    School – Individual – Annita Wenban, Bramfield Park Primary School

    School – Team – Albany Primary School

    Workplace – Individual – Lindi Harding, Bethesda Health Care


    Western Australian Bicycle Network category


    Regional Bike Network project

    Shire of Broome – Broome Conti Foreshore Shared Path


    Perth Bike Network project

    City of Kalamunda – Kalamunda-High Wycombe Shared Path