Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Minister for Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage

    Awards celebrate 30 years of heritage champions

    25/11/2022 8:00 PM
    • 13 people recognised for heritage excellence at the 2022 WA Heritage Awards
    • Special guests attend ceremony at WA Museum Boola Bardip to celebrate 30 years of the awards
    • Heritage trailblazers display world-class excellence in projects and practices

    Western Australia's heritage champions have been celebrated at the WA Heritage Awards tonight at the 120-year-old WA Museum Boola Bardip.


    More than 100 guests celebrated the achievements of professionals, volunteer groups, individuals and organisations which embrace heritage through conservation, adaptive reuse, promotion, tourism, and interpretation.  


    Dr Ingrid van Bremen, Adjunct Senior Lecturer at the University of Western Australia Design School, won the Professional Contribution Award.


    The late historian Clare Menck was recognised posthumously, receiving the prestigious Judges Award - The Professor David Dolan Award - for her work on 'A Thematic History of Western Australia'.


    The judges noted that Clare was a consummate professional and meticulous researcher who was dedicated to sharing stories, and that her achievements and contributions to the field would continue to inform and inspire for many years to come.


    Each winner received a special certificate and a copy of Clare's book.


    Rail Heritage WA was recognised in two categories, for Contribution by a Community-based Organisation and Voluntary Individual Contribution.


    Other winners included the Shire of Collie for a multi-pronged heritage enhancement works program, Vincent Street Heritage Walking Trail in Beverley and the Former Fremantle Court House and Police Station Complex, which envisions a hotel, restaurant, and retail hub to complement the heritage buildings.


    Comments attributed to Heritage Minister David Templeman:


    "I congratulate the 13 Western Australian heritage champions for their exceptional contribution to conserving and sharing the stories of our State's precious heritage assets.


    "Rail Heritage WA and its President Philippa Rogers, who has earned the Voluntary Individual Contribution Award, are doing excellent, ongoing work to preserve the State's important rail heritage.


    "Dr Ingrid van Bremen has dedicated more than 25 years - through her professional practice and teaching at the University of Western Australia - to the conservation of WA's heritage. Her ongoing vital research will continue to inform best practice conservation outcomes.


    "I congratulate the Heritage Council of Western Australia, led by the Honourable John Cowdell AM, on the 30th anniversary of its awards program and commend its efforts in preserving the State's heritage assets for continued use by future generations."


    Minister's office - 6552 5400


    2022 Western Australian Heritage Award Winners:


    Voluntary Individual Contribution

    Winner: Philippa Rogers, President, Rail Heritage WA

    Commendation: Peggy Pamela Parkin, Volunteer and Belmont Local History Champion


    Professional Contribution

    Winner: Dr Ingrid van Bremen, Adjunct Senior Lecturer, University of Western Australia


    Contribution by a Community-based Organisation

    Winner: Rail Heritage WA

    Commendation: Greenough Museum and Gardens


    Contribution by a Public or Private Organisation

    Winner: Shire of Collie

    Commendation: City of Bunbury


    Interpretation Project

    Winner: 'Fremantle Then & Now: Historical Panoramas' exhibition


    Heritage Tourism Product

    Winner: Vincent Street Heritage Walking Trail, Beverley


    Conservation or Adaptive Reuse of a State Registered Place

    Winner: Former Fremantle Court House and Police Station Complex

    Joint Commendation: 101 Canning Highway (East Fremantle Post and Telegraph Office)

    Joint Commendation: Victoria Quay, Fremantle (Gage Roads Fremantle)


    The Judges' Award: The Professor David Dolan Award

    Winner (posthumous): Clare Menck, Historian and author of 'A Thematic History of Western Australia'