Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Minister for Environment; Climate Action; Racing and Gaming

    Waste Authority re-sets to tackle waste challenges

    19/08/2022 4:40 PM
    • Elizabeth Carr AM appointed Waste Authority Chair for a five-year term
    • Deputy Chair and three members reappointed for four and five-year terms
    • Waste Authority provides Minister with advice on waste

    Environment Minister Reece Whitby today welcomed a new Chair and the reappointment of four members to the Waste Authority, reaffirming the McGowan Government's focus on waste avoidance and resource recovery.


    Elizabeth Carr AM has been appointed Chair, bringing with her significant experience at a Board Director level in both the private and public sectors, and expertise in strategy development for international organisations such as IBM and the Macquarie Group.


    Ms Carr was also a member of the Environmental Protection Authority from 2011 to 2019 and received the Order of Australia (AM) for 'significant service to the community through voluntary contributions to the health, aged care, education, and social services sectors'.


    Deputy Chair Lee Broomhall, Chief Executive Officer of Workpower, and Tim Youe, Chief Executive Officer of the Resource Recovery Group, have been reappointed for five-year terms.


    Members Dr Joshua Byrne, Director of Josh Byrne & Associates, and Kelly Howlett, Chief Executive Officer of Bloodwood Tree Association, have been reappointed for four-year terms.


    The Waste Authority will continue to guide the implementation of the State's Waste Avoidance and Resource Recovery Strategy 2030, which is due for statutory review by December 2023.


    It will advise on significant changes in the waste industry as it adapts to the impact of COVID-19 and is re-shaped by the Commonwealth's waste export bans, along with national and jurisdictional key targets for waste performance. The Waste Authority will also support progress on the State's waste reform agenda over the next five years.


    Comments attributed to Environment Minister Reece Whitby:


    "I look forward to working with these five talented people who bring a wide range of experience to this board, including shaping strategic direction and policy, urban sustainability, project and waste management, and exposure to the local government and planning sectors.


    "I would also like to thank outgoing Chair Reg Howard-Smith, who has played an instrumental role on the board since 2019 and leaves behind a strong foundation for the future."


    Minister's office - 6552 6300