Hon Dr Tony Buti BPE DipEd MIR LLB DPhil MLA

Hon Dr Tony Buti BPE DipEd MIR LLB DPhil MLA

Minister for Finance; Racing and Gaming; Aboriginal Affairs; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests

    WA emergency services personnel recognised in Queen’s Birthday Honours

    13/06/2022 8:00 AM
    • Seven Western Australian emergency services personnel recognised nationally
    • Four Australian Fire Service Medals and three Emergency Services Medals awarded
    • Volunteer and career personnel acknowledged  

    Seven emergency services volunteer and career personnel have been recognised in the 2022 Queen's Birthday Honours List for their extraordinary commitment to protecting Western Australians.


    Four Australian Fire Service Medals and three Emergency Services Medals were awarded to Western Australians who have shown outstanding dedication and innovation to creating safer communities through their emergency services roles.


    The 2022 Australian Fire Service Medal recipients are:

    • Mr Alan Pugh of Kalamunda Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service (VFRS), who has been recognised for 47 years of service. A former brigade captain for eight years, he has responded to more than 4,800 incident calls and has been the Officer in Charge at more than 1,000 incidents;
    • Mr Michael Teraci, a long-standing volunteer with East Swan Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade and a career firefighter. As the District Officer for the State Wide Operational Response Division at the Department of Fire and Emergency Services (DFES), he has played a critical role in the response to a wide range of complex and challenging incidents throughout his career;
    • Mr Jon Broomhall, who was honoured for his trusted leadership and innovation in more than 27 years of service. He is the current DFES Assistant Commissioner Metropolitan Operations and is responsible for leading frontline operations across the Perth metropolitan area, encompassing nearly 50 fire stations and more than 1,000 staff; and
    • Mr Harold Moir from Esperance VFRS, a respected mentor who has dedicated 47 years to serving the community as a firefighter. As a volunteer, he has fulfilled various roles including Brigade Captain and has responded to a diverse range of incidents.  

    The 2022 Emergency Services Medal recipients are:

    • Mr Patrick Shinnick, who has been a dedicated and active member of Marine Rescue Lancelin since 1984. He has been a Commander for the past 11 years and a Training Officer for more than 20 years, playing an integral role in response to more than 150 marine rescues;
    • Mr Chris Brien, who has given 30 years of service to Surf Life Saving WA. Gaining his Bronze Medallion in 1991, he has played a pivotal role in the Esperance region in both frontline operations and club management, including 10 years as club president; and
    • Mr Kenneth Summers, who has contributed 25 years of service to the Fremantle Surf Life Saving Club. He joined in 1996, gained his Bronze Medallion the following year and has been on the club board for more than 15 years.  

    Full citations for each recipient can be found on the Governor-General's website.


    Comments attributed to Acting Emergency Services and Volunteering Minister Dr Tony Buti:


    "On behalf of the McGowan Government and the Western Australian community, I would like to congratulate the recipients of the Australian Fire Service Medal and Emergency Services Medal.


    "Recognition in the Queen's Birthday Honours is a significant achievement and is a fitting tribute to the selfless and hard-working people who have had a profound impact on emergency services and their local communities throughout Western Australia.


    "It's fantastic to see these dedicated emergency services personnel recognised nationally for their extraordinary dedication over such long periods."


    Minister's office - 6552 5800