Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Minister for Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage

    Stage is set - new Arts and Culture Trust Board announced

    15/06/2022 1:00 PM
    • Arts and Culture Trust (ACT) replaces Perth Theatre Trust
    • Five women and four men with impressive business, and culture and arts experience appointed  
    • Regional Aboriginal representation included to reflect ACT's expanded role 

    Western Australia will have a new Arts and Culture Trust (ACT) and Board from July 1, 2022 with nine highly regarded industry experts appointed to take on board roles.  


    Culture and the Arts Minister David Templeman announced the appointments, made under the Arts and Culture Trust Act 2021, as the eight-member Perth Theatre Trust Board nears the end of its run. 


    The new authority will oversee all types of art and cultural assets other than just theatres, and apply a State-wide lens to engagement, business activities and presentation of productions for the arts and the community. 


    For continuity purposes, the ACT Board will have three current Perth Theatre Trust Board members, including nationally recognised award-winning lawyer and founding member of the WA Chamber of Culture and the Arts, Chair Morgan Solomon, taxation specialist and respected business community leader, Michelle Tremain, and civil engineer Nadia van Dommelen who played key roles in large infrastructure projects such as Optus Stadium. 


    The other appointments are:

    • former Screenwest Chair and Community Arts Network non-executive director, strategist Janelle Marr;
    • lawyer and Perth Institute of Contemporary Arts and WA Live Events non-executive director Melvin Yeo;
    • property, project and infrastructure solutions advisor, accomplished consultant Stuart Bell;
    • retired arts manager Shane Colquhoun AM, who was inaugural Chair of Seesaw Magazine and currently sits on the Arts Advisory Committee Winston Churchill Memorial Trust;
    • theatre designer Zoe Atkinson, a non-executive director at Black Swan Theatre Company; and
    • Michele 'Mitch' Torres, a Djugun, Djabirr Djabirr, Gooniyandi, Walmajarri, Yawuru woman, as well as a trained TV journalist and radio broadcast producer/presenter, television presenter, filmmaker, writer-director/producer and theatrical writer/director.

    When the ACT is established on July 1, 2022, the board will be empowered to carry out its functions. A date for the first meeting of the ACT Board is currently being arranged. The Perth Theatre Trust Board meets for the last time on June 16, 2022. Photos and bios of the ACT Board members will be available on the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries website.


    Comments attributed to Culture and the Arts Minister David Templeman: 


    "The formation of the Arts and Culture Trust Board marks the start of a new era as we move away from the Perth Theatre Trust (PTT), which was limited to managing theatres. I am delighted to have appointed such highly credentialed members, which also includes regional representation. I am pleased that Morgan Solomon will continue as Chair to lead the new board on its establishment journey. 


    "WA's new Arts and Culture Trust legislation requires the appointment of board members with skills and experience relating to the trust's functions such as law, financial management, infrastructure planning, and culture and the arts industry experience. I feel that the nine representatives more than meet those requirements - in my view they exceed expectations. 


    "The new board takes the work of the trust beyond the brick walls of theatre buildings to all kinds of art and cultural assets, while representing best practice for contemporary policy and governance.


    "I look forward to future outcomes under this group's leadership. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the outgoing PTT Board for their dedication and service." 


    Minister's office - 6552 5400



    The Arts and Culture Trust Act 2021 replaces the Perth Theatre Trust Act 1979. See previous Ministerial media statements for more details: