Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Minister for Emergency Services; Innovation and ICT; Medical Research; Volunteering

    Awards ceremony honours long-serving Beelerup volunteers

    30/06/2022 2:30 PM
    • Four long-service medals presented to South-West volunteer firefighters  
    • Members celebrating a combined 235 years of service to Western Australia

    Four long-serving members of the Beelerup Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade (VBFB) have today been recognised for outstanding service to their local community.


    Emergency Services Minister Stephen Dawson and Fire and Emergency Services Commissioner Darren Klemm AFSM attended an awards ceremony in Beelerup in the South-West today to acknowledge the members' remarkable achievements.

    Volunteer firefighter Colin Sharp was awarded a 65-year Service Certificate and Medal. He is the longest-serving member of Beelerup VBFB and his son Chris is also a member.


    Bruce Hearman received a 60-year Service Certificate and Medal, while Peter Hearman and Tom Sheehan were recognised for 55 years of service.


    The Beelerup VBFB was formed in 1954, with their first purpose-built station officially opening in September 2020. The brigade currently has 48 registered active members.


    Beelerup VBFB has attended 10 incidents in the past 12 months.


    Comments attributed to Emergency Services Minister Stephen Dawson:


    "Volunteers are the heart and soul of local communities and the Beelerup Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade has a rich history, serving the community and surrounding towns for almost 70 years.


    "On behalf of the McGowan Government, I thank Colin, Bruce, Peter, Tom and the entire Beelerup Volunteer Fire Brigade for their dedicated service in keeping their local communities safe.

    "It is a privilege to recognise these long-serving members and acknowledge their ongoing commitment to making Western Australia a safer State."


    Comments attributed to Collie-Preston MLA Jodie Hanns:


    "I congratulate these outstanding individuals who have given a combined 235 years of service to Beelerup Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade, and more importantly to their local community.


    "To Colin, Bruce, Peter and Tom - thank you for your incredible efforts and thanks to your families who have no doubt supported you throughout your long-standing tenures."


    Minister's office - 6552 5800