Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Minister for Environment; Climate Action; Racing and Gaming

    Waste champions recognised at 2022 WasteSorted Awards

    20/05/2022 7:00 AM
    • Awards showcase projects that reduce waste, and promote reuse and recycling
    • Over 100 nominations received, with 38 finalists across 10 categories
    • Two new awards: Local Government Award and Waste Avoidance (Events) award 

    The top performers in Western Australia's recycling and waste industry were celebrated last night at the 2022 WasteSorted Awards.


    Each year, the WasteSorted Awards acknowledge innovative solutions to reduce waste and celebrate the champions whose efforts assist with achieving the targets in Western Australia's Waste Strategy.


    This year, 38 finalists competed across 10 categories, showcasing the achievements of individuals, businesses, government, schools, community organisations and not-for-profits.


    Two new categories were included in 2022, recognising the important efforts of local governments and waste avoidance at events.


    Some of the category winners include:

    • Boddington RRR (Reduce, Reuse, Recycle) won the Community Waste Award for a large-scale community recycling initiative repurposing waste plastic into local artwork and park benches.
    • The City of Wanneroo won the Waste Initiative of the Year for its Talking My Language Project, a multilingual educational toolkit to help people from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds understand waste sorting and services.
    • Workpower's Waste Team is a 120-person crew and won the 2022 Waste Award for its role in diverting 15,600 tonnes of waste per year via initiatives such as reuse shops, e-waste collections and recycling of hair salon waste.  

    Gordon Bateup was named the 2022 Waste Champion for his program GreenChair, which repurposes unwanted furniture from businesses to not-for-profit organisations, charities and community groups. Under the program, more than 123,500 kilograms of commercial furniture has been diverted from landfill in under two years.


    More information on the WasteSorted Awards and the full list of winners and finalists can be found on Waste Authority's website at www.wasteauthority.wa.gov.au


    Comments attributed to Environment Minister Reece Whitby:


    "The WasteSorted Awards recognise individuals and organisations that go the extra mile to reduce the amount of waste that ends up in landfill.


    "The competition was highly competitive and each of the winners serve as an example of the gold standard in waste reduction initiatives.


    "Reducing waste provides social and economic benefits by increasing employment opportunities and encouraging community action.


    "I commend each of the 2022 winners and finalists for their role in contributing to the State Government's target of having at least 75 per cent of waste generated in Western Australia reused or recycled by 2030."


    Minister's office - 6552 6300


    2022 WasteSorted Awards Category winners


    Community Waste Award

    Winner:  Boddington RRR

    Highly Commended: Responsible Cafes


    Commercial and Industrial Waste Award

    Winner: DevelopmentWA / Lendlease / EarthCare - Alkimos Beach - Builders Waste Recycling Program

    Highly Commended: Bateup Consulting (GreenChair)


    Waste Management Award

    Winner: WA Recycling

    Highly Commended: Esperance Care Services


    WA Regional Waste Award

    Winner: Shire of East Pilbara

    Highly Commended: Boddington RRR

    Highly Commended: East Kimberley Job Pathways - Containers for Change


    Waste Champion

    Winner: Gordon Bateup


    Local Government Award

    Winner: Western Metropolitan Regional Council/Resource Recovery Group - GREAT Games & School Waste Education Day

    Highly Commended: City of Albany - FOGO Implementation


    Waste Team

    Winner: Workpower's Waste Team

    Highly Commended: Brookfield Place Perth - Breaking the Plastic Habit

    Highly Recommended: Give Write


    Waste Innovation Award

    Winner: Town of Cambridge - E-Waste Drop off Days


    WasteSorted School Award

    Winner: Beeliar Primary School

    Highly Commended: Hillcrest Primary School

    Highly Commended: Koorda Primary School


    Waste Avoidance (Events) Award

    Winner: Town of East Fremantle


    Waste Initiative of the Year

    Winner: City of Wanneroo -Talking My Language Project


    Waste Award

    Winner: Workpower's Waste Team