Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Minister for Environment; Climate Action

    Finalists announced for the 2022 WasteSorted Awards

    11/04/2022 7:00 AM
    • 38 finalists announced for the 2022 WasteSorted Awards
    • Annual awards celebrate Western Australia's waste champions and the work being achieved in waste reduction
    • Two new awards: local government award and waste avoidance at events award 

    Waste Champions in Western Australia will be celebrated at the 2022 WasteSorted Awards, with the 38 finalists announced today.


    Each year, the WasteSorted Awards acknowledge innovative solutions to reduce waste and meet the reuse and recycling targets in WA's Waste Strategy.


    Nominations were received across 10 categories representing individuals, business and industry, government, schools, community organisations and not-for-profits.


    The categories for 2022 include:

    • Community Waste Award;
    • Commercial and Industrial Waste Award;
    • Waste Management Award;
    • Regional Waste Award;
    • Waste Champion;
    • Local Government Award (new);
    • Waste Team of the Year;
    • Waste Innovation of the Year;
    • WasteSorted School Award; and
    • Waste Avoidance (Events) Award (new) 

    Winners will be announced at a gala dinner award ceremony on May 19, 2022 at The Ritz-Carlton, Perth. Visit the Waste Authority's website to purchase tickets to the award event.


    Comments attributed to Environment Minister Reece Whitby:


    "Western Australians continue to show their commitment to the environment through innovative waste reduction.


    "The WasteSorted Awards not only celebrate waste champions, they serve as an example of what can be achieved every day in waste reduction.


    "We can all contribute to waste reduction, be it in our homes, work or the community."


    Minister's office - 6552 6300


    WasteSorted Awards Finalists for 2022


    Category 1 - 2022 Community Waste Award

    • Boddington Reduce Reuse Recycle
    • Town of Cambridge - Wardrobe Refresh
    • Western Metropolitan Regional Council/Resource Recovery Group - GREAT Games and School Waste Education Day
    • Responsible Cafes 

    Category 2 - 2022 Commercial and Industrial Waste Award

    • DevelopmentWA/Lendlease/EarthCare - Alkimos Beach Builders Waste Recycling Program
    • Bateup Consulting
    • NEWest Alliance
    • Cleanaway - Curtin University 

    Category 3 - 2022 Waste Management Award

    • NEWest Alliance
    • WA Recycling
    • Town of Cambridge - E-waste Drop Off Days
    • Esperance Care Services  

    Category 4 - 2022 WA Regional Waste Award

    • Boddington Reduce Reuse Recycle
    • East Kimberley Job Pathways - Containers for Change
    • WALGA, Workpower and Total Green Recycling - Regional E-waste Collections
    • Shire of East Pilbara  

    Category 5 - 2022 Waste Champion

    • Carey Wright
    • Gordon Bateup
    • Nahrel Dallywater
    • Renee McLennan 

    Category 6 - 2022 Local Government Award

    • City of Albany - FOGO Implementation
    • City of Bayswater - Organics Matter School Composting Program
    • Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council - Battery Collection
    • Western Metropolitan Regional Council/Resource Recovery Group - GREAT Games and School Waste Education Day 

    Category 7 - 2022 Waste Team

    • Brookfield Properties - Breaking the Plastic Habit Initiative
    • City of Wanneroo - Waste Services Team
    • Give Write
    • WorkPower's Waste Team 

    Category 8 - 2022 Waste Innovation Award

    • Town of Cambridge - E-waste Drop Off Days
    • City of Wanneroo - Talking My Language
    • WA Recycling  

    Category 9 - 2022 WasteSorted School Award

    • Hillcrest Primary School
    • Koorda Primary School
    • South Coogee Primary School
    • Beeliar Primary School 

    Category 10 - 2022 Waste Avoidance (Events) Award

    • Australian Association for Environmental Education, WA Chapter (AAEE WA)
    • MarketLife - Perth Makers Market
    • Town of East Fremantle