Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations

    Portfolio changes within McGowan Cabinet announced

    17/12/2021 10:50 AM
    • Highlights the McGowan Government's focus on the future of the WA economy, the hospital system and health services, homelessness, and climate action
    • Changes emphasise the strength of the Cabinet and maintains government stability

    Premier Mark McGowan today announced changes within his Cabinet to readjust the balance of responsibilities for Ministers and refocus the Government's agenda as Western Australia enters the next phase of the COVID-19 pandemic.


    After 13 years in the Health portfolio across Opposition and Government, Deputy Premier Roger Cook will pass the Health portfolio to Amber-Jade Sanderson and focus his efforts on diversifying the WA economy by adding Tourism and Commerce to his economic portfolio.


    As the new Health Minister, Ms Sanderson will also take on Mental Health responsibilities.


    After delivering important reforms in his portfolios, Stephen Dawson will become the Minister for Emergency Services, Innovation and ICT, Medical Research and Volunteering.


    David Templeman will gain the important International Education portfolio, which is a significant element of the Reconnect WA plan, and take on Sport and Recreation.


    John Carey will add Homelessness to his Housing and Local Government responsibilities, in addition to now overseeing the Lands portfolio.


    Tony Buti will continue to drive the Finance portfolio and gain Racing and Gaming, along with Aboriginal Affairs.


    Reece Whitby will take on the important Environment and Climate Action portfolios.


    Don Punch will add Small Business to his responsibilities and Bill Johnston will return as Industrial Relations Minister.


    Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


    "My team always strives to lead a reasonable, responsible and stable Government, and that will continue, with these changes only further highlighting the strength of the Cabinet.


    "The Deputy Premier has been a calm and steady hand as Health Minister, particularly throughout the pandemic, and as WA embarks on our Safe Transition Plan now is the right time for change.


    "Minister Sanderson is ready to take on the responsibility and help deliver ongoing improvements to our hospital and health services.


    "These portfolio changes are about getting the balance right across the Cabinet and sharpening the Government's agenda as we enter the next phase of the pandemic.


    "The adjustments will help ensure we continue to keep WA safe and strong, by driving economic growth, diversifying our economy across a range of important industries and protect our beautiful, natural environment."


    Premier's office - 6552 5000


    Hon Mark McGowan MLA

    Premier; Treasurer; Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations


    Hon Roger Cook MLA

    Deputy Premier; Minister for State Development, Jobs and Trade; Tourism; Commerce; Science


    Hon Sue Ellery MLC

    Education and Training


    Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

    Emergency Services; Innovation and ICT; Medical Research; Volunteering


    Hon Alannah MacTiernan MLC

    Regional Development; Agriculture and Food; Hydrogen Industry


    Hon David Templeman MLA

    Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage;
    Leader of the House


    Hon John Quigley MLA

    Attorney General; Electoral Affairs


    Hon Paul Papalia MLA

    Police; Road Safety; Defence Industry; Veterans Issues


    Hon Bill Johnston MLA

    Mines and Petroleum; Energy; Corrective Services; Industrial Relations


    Hon Rita Saffioti MLA

    Transport; Planning; Ports


    Hon Tony Buti MLA

    Finance; Racing and Gaming; Aboriginal Affairs; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests


    Hon Simone McGurk MLA

    Child Protection; Women's Interests; Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence; Community Services


    Hon Dave Kelly MLA

    Water; Forestry; Youth


    Hon Amber-Jade Sanderson MLA

    Health; Mental Health


    Hon John Carey MLA

    Housing; Lands; Homelessness; Local Government


    Hon Don Punch MLA

    Disability Services; Fisheries; Seniors and Ageing; Small Business


    Hon Reece Whitby MLA

    Environment; Climate Action