Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Minister for Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage

    Fremantle local joins Heritage Council as newest member

    22/12/2021 2:05 PM
    • New member and three returning members appointed to Heritage Council
    • Appointments reflect depth of knowledge and experience across WA heritage
    • Council is the expert body on places of significant heritage value to the State

    The Heritage Council of Western Australia today welcomed the appointment of one new member and three returning members to the Council. 


    Architect and former heritage co-ordinator for the City of Fremantle, Alan Kelsall, brings a wealth of experience to the council from his extensive portfolio of conservation planning and building projects, including undertaking more than 50 heritage assessments.


    Three existing members - Nerida Moredoundt, Lloyd Clark and Catherine Lezer - have also been reappointed to the Council.


    Both Nerida and Lloyd have contributed significantly to the development of, and transition to, the Heritage Act 2018.


    Since her appointment earlier this year, Catherine Lezer has also brought valuable expertise and insights from her roles as Director of the Strata Community Association Inc WA and City of Perth councillor.


    The Heritage Council is the State Government's expert body on WA's cultural and heritage matters and is responsible for the assessment and consideration of places that could be worthy of entry on the State Register of Heritage Places.


    It also provides specialist advice relating to development proposals that propose adaptive reuse or could impact places on the State Heritage Register, and advocates for excellence in the conservation and interpretation of State heritage.


    The Council comprises nine members, appointed by the Minister for Heritage, who have demonstrated knowledge of or experience in heritage matters, as well as a range of qualifications from fields such as architecture and construction to engineering and archaeology, as outlined in section 14 of the Heritage Act 2008.


    The Heritage Council is chaired by Hon John Cowdell MLC. Other members representing all areas of the heritage sector are Dr Erika Techera, Leigh Barrett, Richard Offen and Sally Malone.


    Comments attributed to Heritage Minister David Templeman:


    "Mr Kelsall is a highly experienced professional with a long record of heritage conservation and I am pleased to confirm his appointment to the Heritage Council of Western Australia.


    "I also look forward to continuing to work with returning members Nerida Moredoundt, Lloyd Clark and Catherine Lezer.


    "I would especially like to thank outgoing Council member Jennifer Marschner for her invaluable commitment and expertise to Western Australia's heritage through her service over the years.


    "The Heritage Council boasts a balance of skills, experience and innovation to expertly guide the future conservation, interpretation and protection of our State's heritage."


    Minister's office - 6552 5400