Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Minister for Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage

    State awards honour WA heritage champions

    19/11/2021 12:00 AM
    • Western Australian leaders and projects recognised for heritage excellence
    • Award winners display world-class excellence in heritage practices

    Honours have been awarded to 19 individuals, organisations and projects tonight at this year's Western Australian Heritage Awards ceremony at the Art Gallery of Western Australia Rooftop.


    The 2021 WA Heritage Awards, now in the 29th year, recognise outstanding contributions to heritage conservation, promotion, tourism and interpretation.


    The coveted Gerry Gauntlet Award went to Farmers Home Hotel in Northam for its multi-million-dollar restoration showcasing adaptive reuse and layering old and new in the hotel's design and interpretation to provide a unique tourism experience.


    The Hotel was also a joint winner with the York Residency Museum for excellence in conservation or adaptive reuse of a heritage building, with commendations awarded to Fremantle's Warders Hotel and Emily Taylor, and Old Onslow Townsite.


    Volunteers and professional heritage champions recognised in this year's awards have worked tirelessly to preserve valuable stories, culture and places, including 15-year-old voluntary curator for the Lost Mundaring & Surroundings Local History Museum, Owen Briffa.


    Owen has produced two photographic history books featuring pictures from Glen Forrest to Wooroloo and a documentary, in which he interviewed and recorded residents about life in the Perth hills.


    The Judges' Award recognised structural and heritage engineer, Ian Maitland OAM, who throughout his 54-year career, and into retirement, has worked tirelessly to promote and advocate for heritage, in particular, engineering heritage.


    From St George's Cathedral to Trinity Church Perth, the heritage balconies of the State Buildings and redevelopment of Raine Square, Ian has passed on his knowledge through mentoring and teaching to emerging engineers, architects and builders.


    Since the first awards in 1992, the WA Heritage Awards have showcased excellence in revitalising State Registered Heritage Places, setting standards in interpretation, heritage tourism, conservation and adaptive reuse.


    More information on the winners and commendation recipients can be found online at http://www.dplh.wa.gov.au/heritage-awards


    Comments attributed to Heritage Minister David Templeman:


    "For over 150 years, the Farmers Home Hotel has been at the heart of the Northam community and a place of welcome and comfort for everyone from pioneers to politicians. Reactivating the building has ensured the heritage icon can be appreciated for future generations.


    "Ian Maitland's career stands out due to the vast number and range of commissions he has undertaken, which includes over 200 heritage projects throughout WA.


    "Fifteen-year-old Owen Briffa has dedicated his time to ensuring the history of the Shire of Mundaring and its townships is collected, preserved and showcased for current and future generations.


    "I particularly want to acknowledge the Ngajarli Art Viewing Trail, which has been carefully designed to achieve cultural safety and caring for Country in a very sacred place. The trail showcases a sense of pride, cultural understanding, and responsibility among the broader community for Murujuga.


    "The high standard of the volunteers, professionals, organisations and projects recognised this evening are a testament to the vital and dynamic heritage scene in our State. Congratulations to all of our winners on their outstanding achievements."


    Minister's office - 6552 5400


    2021 Western Australian Heritage Awards

    Voluntary Individual Contribution

    Winner:Owen Briffa, Volunteer Curator, Lost Mundaring & Surroundings Local History Museum
    Maureen Lissiman, Volunteer, Holy Trinity Church, Roebourne
    Marion Gathercole, Volunteer, See Subiaco and City of Subiaco

    Professional Contribution

    Winner:Ian Maitland OAM, Retired Civil, Structural and Heritage Engineer

    Contribution by a Community-based Organisation

    Winner:Heritage Skills Association WA Inc.
    Littlewell Working Group
    Friends of ANZAC Cottage Inc.


    Contribution by Public Organisation

    Winner:City of Rockingham

    Interpretation Project

    Winner:Missions Connect
    Wadjemup Museum
    Esperance Tanker Jetty replacement and interpretation

    Heritage Tourism Product

    Winner:Ngarjarli Art Viewing Trail, Murujuga National Park
    Commendation:Farmers Home Hotel, Northam


    Conservation or Adaptive Reuse of a State Registered Place

    Joint Winner:
    Farmers Home Hotel, Northam
    York Residency Museum
    Warders Hotel and Emily Taylor, Fremantle
    Old Onslow Townsite

    The Gerry Gauntlett Award

    Winner:Farmers Home Hotel, Northam

    The Judges' Award: The Professor David Dolan Award

    Winner:Ian Maitland OAM, Civil, Retired Structural and Heritage Engineer