Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Deputy Premier; Minister for State Development, Jobs and Trade; Tourism; Commerce; Science

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Education and Training

    Schools recognised in top honours at Governor’s School STEM Awards

    15/11/2021 3:00 PM
    • One regional and three metropolitan public schools celebrated for outstanding leadership and teaching in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) education
    • McGowan Government committed to increasing student participation in STEM to prepare the next generation for the jobs of the future

    Science Minister Roger Cook today recognised the recipients of the 2021 Governor's School STEM Awards, with four public schools taking out the top honours.


    One regional and three metropolitan public schools received prizes at a ceremony hosted by the Hon. Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia, at Government House.


    Harrisdale Primary School took out the Leadership Excellence Award in the primary school category for its whole-of-school, inquiry-based learning framework and the incorporation of technologies throughout their learning programs. The school also displayed outstanding levels of engagement with external providers, parents and the community.


    Joseph Banks Secondary College in Banksia Grove took out the top prize in the secondary schools category for embedding STEM and links to future pathways across the school and implementing key initiatives that provide real world, hands-on learning opportunities. The secondary college was also recognised for the development of a Space Science Education Centre.


    Meritorious Leadership Awards went to Marble Bar Primary School in the Pilbara for encouraging students to engage in the global world whilst practising the core values of the local Nyamal community. Ashdale Secondary College in Darch was also recognised for embedding STEM in the school culture and engaging with their four cluster primary schools to prioritise STEM in the early years.


    Recognising education and leadership teams that take a whole-of-school approach to STEM learning, the awards support the Western Australian Government's STEM skills strategy, 'Future jobs, future skills', which aims to prepare Western Australians with the STEM skills needed for jobs in new and emerging industries. The Awards are delivered in partnership with Scitech.


    For more information, visit https://www.scitech.org.au/educators/governor-school-stem-awards/


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Roger Cook:


    "The winners of this year's Governor's School STEM Awards have gone above and beyond to develop engaging and supportive STEM learning environments.


    "The schools recognised are providing the next generation with skills for the jobs of the future.


    "The awards form part of the McGowan Government's efforts, through our State STEM skills strategy, to encourage student participation in science, technology, engineering and mathematics at school and beyond."


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "It's fantastic to see four public schools take out the 2021 Governor's School STEM Awards.


    "Getting students to fully embrace STEM education takes strong leadership and teachers that spark inspiration.


    "I congratulate the recipients of this year's awards and hope they will encourage and inspire more schools to embed STEM as a core part of their culture."


    Comments attributed to the Hon. Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia:


    "I would like to congratulate all of the winners, runners-up and finalists in this year's Governor's School STEM Awards.


    "The school leadership teams recognised as part of this year's awards have developed strong STEM education initiatives, which engage students and support outcomes critical to Western Australia's technological future.


    "These awards are a fantastic celebration and acknowledgement of excellent STEM education leadership and achievements in Western Australia, and it was a pleasure hosting this year's awards ceremony."


    Science Minister's office - 6552 6500

    Education and Training Minister's office - 6552 5700