Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Education and Training

    New Kindergarten/Pre-primary facilities officially opened at High Wycombe Primary School

    22/11/2021 1:00 PM
    • $3 million Kindergarten/Pre-primary building at High Wycombe Primary is complete
    • New classrooms and play areas including sandpits are among the new facilities
    • The opening of the building coincides with the school's 60th anniversary celebrations

    Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery has unveiled the new $3 million Kindergarten/Pre-primary facilities at High Wycombe Primary School.


    The project includes four new classrooms for Kindergarten and Pre-primary students, fenced play areas, sandpits, kitchen facilities, staff and student toilets, and storerooms.


    The new Kindergarten/Pre-primary block replaces transportable classrooms to provide permanent facilities for students in the growing local area.


    The project is part of the McGowan Government's WA Recovery Package investing $492.2 million for upgrades and refurbishments at public schools across Western Australia.


    The opening of the new building coincides with the school's 60th anniversary, providing a celebration of both the past and the future.


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "What better way to celebrate High Wycombe Primary School's 60th anniversary than with the opening of these fantastic new Kindergarten/Pre-primary facilities.


    "I'm sure local families will be pleased to know their young children will be educated in modern, welcoming and inspiring learning environments."


    Comments attributed to Forrestfield MLA Stephen Price:


    "High Wycombe Primary School has a proud 60-year history, and the new facilities will ensure it continues to serve the community well into the future.


    "I have worked hard to ensure students and their families in our area have access to quality public education, so I am really excited to be able to deliver these upgrades."


    Minister's office - 6552 5700