Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

    New Forest Products Commission Chair Appointed

    16/11/2021 2:30 PM
    • ​Ms Debra Blaskett appointed as new Chair of the Forest Products Commission
    • Ms Blaskett brings extensive government and private industry experience to the role
    • Ms Blaskett has served as a Commissioner with the Forest Products Commission since June 2021 before being appointed as the new Chair
    • A new Commissioner, Ms Vanessa Martin, has also been appointed to the Board

    Forestry Minister Dave Kelly today announced that Ms Debra Blaskett has been appointed as the new Chair of the Forest Products Commission (FPC).


    Ms Blaskett, who has served as an FPC Commissioner since June 2021, brings to the role extensive experience as both a non-executive director and senior executive working across a range of industries including aviation, maritime ports, tourism and Commonwealth Government administration and regulation.


    The FPC has also welcomed a new Commissioner, Ms Vanessa Martin. Ms Martin has extensive experience with both private companies and State Government agencies, having worked as a CEO in the private sector and also as an Executive Director in Government.


    Ms Martin has helped develop and manage the implementation of State Government Aboriginal employment strategies, as well as play a significant role in liaison, consultation and negotiation with key stakeholders in the State's Aboriginal community.


    Comments attributed to Forestry Minister Dave Kelly:


    "I am delighted to welcome Debra to the role of Chair of the FPC. I know her experience and knowledge will be critical to leading the Commission over the next few years.


    "I also welcome Vanessa as a new Commissioner and look forward to working with her over the coming years.


    "I also would like to thank the outgoing Chair, Mr Ross Holt, for his two terms that he has served as Chair and for the knowledge and guidance he has provided over the years."


    Minister's office - 6552 6100