Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Minister for Emergency Services; Innovation and the Digital Economy; Medical Research; Volunteering

    2021 WA Mental Health Awards finalists announced

    11/10/2021 8:00 AM
    • 27 individuals, schools, employers and community groups named as finalists in the 2021 WA Mental Health Awards
    • 158 nominations received across nine award categories
    • Winners to be announced on Thursday November 25  

    Mental Health Minister Stephen Dawson today announced the 27 outstanding finalists in this year's WA Mental Health Awards.


    The Awards are hosted annually by the Western Australian Association for Mental Health, in partnership with the Mental Health Commission, to recognise the achievements of individuals, schools, workplaces, service providers and community organisations, to improving the mental health and wellbeing of Western Australians.


    This year there were 158 nominations across nine awards categories including:

    • News Media, for excellence in journalism and reporting on mental health;
    • Diversity, for an individual, organisation or group that embraces diversity and promotes inclusion with an initiative that benefits a particular population group;
    • Innovation for Change, for outstanding innovation driving change for better mental health;
    • Mental Health Employee Excellence or Volunteer, for outstanding contribution to mental health in WA by an individual employed or volunteering in the sector;
    • Prevention & Promotion, for outstanding contribution to prevention and/or promotion in mental health;
    • Mentally Healthy Education, for educational institutions that encourage, support and promote good mental health for its students, staff and volunteers;
    • Mentally Healthy Workplace, for a workplace that encourages, supports and promotes good mental health for its staff;
    • Lived Experience Impact Inspiration, for outstanding contribution to mental health in WA by an individual who identifies as having a lived experience (consumer, carer or family member); and
    • Minister's Award, which recognises someone who has displayed best practice at every level and a true dedication to service in the 2020 calendar year. 

    The awards are judged by a panel from diverse parts of the mental health sector and include individuals with lived experience.


    Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony to be held on November 25. A complete list of finalists for this year's Mental Health Awards can be found at Finalists | WAAMH.


    Award sponsors include Lotterywest, Chamber of Minerals and Energy WA, Lifeline WA, the Commissioner for Children and Young People WA, Act-Belong-Commit, and Youth Focus.


    Comments attributed to Mental Health Minister Stephen Dawson:


    "I would like to thank everyone who nominated for the 2021 WA Mental Health Awards for their passion and commitment to improving the mental health and wellbeing of some of the most vulnerable people in our community.


    "Congratulations to the finalists for their outstanding contribution this year.


    "I know every single individual and group working in our mental health sector is dedicated to promoting excellence and best practice, and the McGowan Government is proud to partner with you to provide better outcomes for all Western Australians."


    Minister's office - 6552 5800