Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Education and Training

    Dedicated career specialist teachers to guide students to success

    22/09/2021 9:00 AM
    • New career practitioners allocated to 70 public secondary schools in Western Australia
    • Practitioners will play integral role in schools to provide students with opportunities to experience a range of work and study options
    • The $31.7 million initiative will see practitioners start work in 2022

    Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery has today announced an exciting new initiative to help students make plans to set them up for successful futures.


    Dedicated career practitioners will be employed at 70 public secondary schools around the State to support students through the senior years of their schooling.


    Practitioners will be positioned where they are most needed such as schools with a large number of students studying Vocational Education and Training.


    Career practitioners - who will be employed as qualified teachers - will work with school leadership teams to make sure that all students have opportunities to participate in a range of work experiences and study options.


    They will play an integral role in providing career information and liaising with students, staff, parents, training providers, employers and industry.


    As part of the $31.7 million initiative, practitioners will complete a Graduate Certificate in Career Development.


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "I understand that for many students considering their future career options can be both exciting and daunting.  


    "Career practitioners will ensure that students are exposed to current and future work requirements and are supported to plan their pathway once they finish school.


    "Students will benefit from the knowledge and expertise that the practitioners have about entry requirements for further study, along with an understanding of training providers and local employers.


    "This is just another way that WA public schools are supporting students to set them up for successful futures."


    Minister's office - 6552 5700


    List of schools:


    Albany Senior High School
    Armadale Senior High School
    Atwell College
    Balcatta Senior High School
    Baldivis Secondary College
    Balga Senior High School
    Ballajura Community College
    Belmont City College
    Belridge Secondary College
    Broome Senior High School
    Bullsbrook College
    Bunbury Senior High School
    Busselton Senior High School
    Butler College
    Byford Secondary College
    Canning Vale College
    Cape Naturaliste College
    Cecil Andrews College
    Champion Bay Senior High School
    Clarkson Community High School
    Collie Senior High School
    Comet Bay College
    Coodanup College
    Dalyellup College
    Darling Range Sports College
    Dianella Secondary College
    East Kimberley College
    Eastern Hills Senior High School
    Eaton Community College
    Ellenbrook Secondary College
    Esperance Senior High School
    Fremantle College
    Geraldton Senior High School
    Gilmore College
    Girrawheen Senior High School
    Governor Stirling Senior High School
    Greenwood College
    Halls Head College
    Hampton Senior High School
    Harrisdale Senior High School
    Hedland Senior High School
    John Forrest Secondary College
    John Tonkin College
    Joseph Banks Secondary College
    Kalamunda Senior High School
    Kalgoorlie-Boulder Community High School
    Karratha Senior High School
    Katanning Senior High School
    Kelmscott Senior High School
    Kent Street Senior High School
    Kiara College
    Lakeland Senior High School
    Lesmurdie Senior High School
    Lynwood Senior High School
    Manjimup Senior High School
    Morley Senior High School
    Newton Moore Senior High School
    North Albany Senior High School
    Northam Senior High School
    Pinjarra Senior High School
    Rockingham Senior High School
    Safety Bay Senior High School
    School of Isolated and Distance Education
    Southern River College
    Swan View Senior High School
    Thornlie Senior High School
    Wanneroo Secondary College
    Warnbro Community High School
    Warwick Senior High School
    Yanchep Secondary College