Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Former Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations

Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Former Deputy Premier; Minister for State Development, Jobs and Trade; Hydrogen Industry; Tourism; Science

    Winners of 20th Premier’s Science Awards announced

    17/08/2021 7:00 AM
    • Seven winners from across five different categories, including two pairs of joint winners
    • Professor Eric May from the University of Western Australia named Scientist of the Year
    • Since 2001, more than 100 awards have been given to the State's best and brightest researchers, students and communicators

    Western Australia's top science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) researchers, students and communicators were celebrated last night at the 2021 Premier's Science Awards ceremony.


    Science Minister Roger Cook presented Professor Eric May from the University of Western Australia with the prestigious Scientist of the Year award and its $50,000 prize.


    Professor May is an internationally recognised leader in the areas of fluid science, thermodynamics, and natural gas engineering. His development and use of measurement technology has produced explanations for long-standing scientific mysteries, revealed unexpected physical phenomena, and helped improve industrial processes.


    During the ceremony at the WA Museum Boola Bardip, Professor Richard Hobbs from the University of Western Australia became the 16th person to be inducted into the WA Science Hall of Fame.


    A leader in his field, Professor Hobbs was recognised for his contribution over the past 37 years to the development and application of ecology - locally, nationally and internationally.


    Premier's Science Awards were also presented to:

    • Associate Professor Edward Litton (University of Western Australia and Fiona Stanley Hospital) and Dr Arman Siahvashi (University of Western Australia) - joint winners of the Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year;
    • Liam Scarlett (Curtin University) and Niamh Troy (University of Western Australia and Telethon Kids Institute) - ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year;
    • Daniel Curran (Curtin University) - Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year; and
    • FIRST LEGO League WA (Curtin University) - Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year. 

    Each category has a $10,000 prize.


    This year, there were 22 finalists across five different categories from a diverse range of fields including ecology, geology, physics, artificial intelligence and medicine.


    For more information about the Premier's Science Awards, including the winners and finalists, visit http://www.jtsi.wa.gov.au/ScienceAwards


    Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


    "Although winners of the 2021 Premier's Science Awards come from a diverse range of fields, they all share one thing in common - they are using their STEM skills to solve real-world problems and improve people's lives.


    "More than ever before, we are regularly reminded of the important role STEM plays in our daily lives. Over the past two years, we have seen scientists at home and around the world rapidly develop solutions to the challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic.


    "Our 'Future jobs, future skills strategy' outlines the State's commitment to building a globally competitive and innovative workforce with the capability to drive the State's STEM future, produce leaders in science and create new jobs."


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Roger Cook:


    "From challenging teams of 9 to 16-year-olds to use LEGO to solve STEM problems to improving the outcomes of critically ill patients in intensive care, this year's winners reflect the breadth of the exceptional contributions made by Western Australians to science.


    "The Premier's Science Awards is the Western Australian Government flagship program to raise the profile of science in the State.


    "Since the start of the awards in 2001, more than 100 of Western Australia's best and brightest researchers, students and communicators have been recognised.


    "For Western Australians inspired by our scientific trailblazers, National Science Week from August 14-22 is the perfect time to take an interest in STEM and participate in activities and events that have been organised."


    Premier's office - 6552 5000

    Science Minister's office - 6552 6500