Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Minister for Environment; Climate Action

    New Burswood Park Board chairperson announced

    27/07/2021 3:35 PM
    • Janelle Marr appointed as new Burswood Park Board chairperson
    • Chris Melsom also appointed to the board
    • McGowan Government thanks outgoing chairperson Barry Sargeant

    The Minister for Racing and Gaming has welcomed the appointment of Janelle Marr as the new Burswood Park Board president and chairperson.


    Janelle Marr is the Managing Director of Step Beyond Strategy and has a wealth of experience as a corporate strategist and advisor. Janelle was also recently announced as a new board member for Tourism WA.


    Ms Marr's appointment as chair replaces outgoing chairperson Barry Sargeant, who has been chair for 28 years.


    Chris Melsom has also been appointed to the board.


    Mr Melsom is a prominent design professional who has a core interest in urban renewal and master planning projects.


    Both appointments come at an important and transitional period for Burswood Park, as the Park Master Plan continues to develop and evolve.


    Town of Victoria Park CEO Anthony Vuleta, Crown Perth CEO Lonnie Bossi and Edith Cowan University lecturer Dr Joanna Pearce will continue to serve as board members.


    The Burswood Park Board is a statutory authority, responsible for the control and management of Burswood Park which is one of Perth's most cherished public open spaces.


    Comments attributed to Racing and Gaming Minister Reece Whitby:


    "I sincerely thank retiring chairperson Barry Sargeant for his contribution to Burswood Park Board, after 28 years. 


    "I would also like to thank Bindi Gove for her contribution.


    "I would like to take the opportunity to congratulate Janelle Marr on being appointed chair and welcome Chris Melsom to the board.


    "The experience both bring to the board will broaden the board's current expertise and guide the future direction of Burswood Park."


    Minister's Office - 6552 6300