Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Minister for Environment; Climate Action

    Local governments share record $7.5 million to reduce bushfire risk

    18/07/2021 6:00 AM
    • Record $7.5 million to be distributed to 26 local governments across Western Australia to reduce bushfire risk
    • More than 1,100 bushfire mitigation activities funded as part of the State Government's commitment to bushfire mitigation  

    A record $7.5 million has been provided to local governments across Western Australia to help reduce bushfire risks in their communities this summer.


    Twenty-six local governments from the Great Southern, Goldfields, Pilbara and Perth areas will share in the multimillion-dollar investment, through the Mitigation Activity Fund grants program.


    The funding will support local governments to conduct more than 1,100 mitigation activities in high bushfire-risk areas on State-owned land, including mechanical treatments to reduce fuel levels, the creation of firebreaks and planned burns.


    Funding for mitigation activities has been available to local governments with endorsed Bushfire Risk Management Plans since the program's inception in 2017.


    Local governments can visit http://www.dfes.wa.gov.au for more information on how to prepare a Bushfire Risk Management Plan for future Mitigation Activity Fund grant rounds.


    Comments attributed to Emergency Services Minister Reece Whitby:


    "The McGowan Government's record investment will help local governments protect their communities by working to reduce the threat of a disastrous bushfire.


    "Under this Government, nearly $31 million has been allocated to 48 local governments to conduct more than 4,300 potentially life and property saving mitigation treatments.


    "We can't stop every bushfire, but the State Government is committed to doing everything we can to support local governments reduce the risk.


    "Bushfires in the WA landscape are a reality and the Mitigation Activity Fund grants program helps local governments prepare for that possibility."


    Minister's office - 6552 6300


    Local governmentAmount allocatedNumber of activities
    City of Albany$273,490.00273
    City of Busselton$500,000.0041
    City of Joondalup$499,000.0014
    City of Karratha$199,750.0057
    City of Kwinana$376,253.2584
    City of Mandurah$57,100.008
    City of Swan$123,000.005
    Shire of Augusta Margaret River$497,500.0042
    Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes$188,935.0033
    Shire of Dardanup$337,295.0021
    Shire of Denmark$497,900.0080
    Shire of Donnybrook-Balingup$327,015.0028
    Shire of Gingin$500,000.002
    Shire of Goomalling$249,850.0014
    Shire of Harvey$104,230.0015
    Shire of Jerramungup$141,625.0078
    Shire of Manjimup$287,240.0033
    Shire of Mundaring$500,000.0011
    Shire of Pingelly$221,000.0035
    Shire of Plantagenet$365,960.0065
    Shire of Ravensthorpe$258,000.0098
    Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale$288,000.0025
    Shire of Toodyay$500,000.0054
    Shire of Victoria Plains$212,141.0020
    Shire of Waroona$62,909.007
    Shire of Woodanilling$4,800.002