Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Minister for Environment; Climate Action; Racing and Gaming

    Eligible areas for Cyclone Seroja relief extended

    3/06/2021 4:00 PM
    • Three new local government areas now eligible for State Government Cyclone Seroja relief assistance
    • Residents and businesses in Carnarvon, Irwin and Koorda who are suffering financial hardship can apply for $4,000 payments
    • Relief package complements Commonwealth-State financial assistance 

    The State Government's Tropical Cyclone Seroja emergency assistance package has been expanded to include three new impacted local government areas.


    Residents and businesses in Carnarvon, Irwin and Koorda who are suffering financial hardship as a result of Tropical Cyclone Seroja can now apply for payments of up to $4,000.


    Sixteen local government areas are now included.


    The eligible regions were expanded in line with the Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements, after further damage assessments.


    Tropical Cyclone Seroja made landfall on April 11, 2021, with an impact area of more than 133,000 square kilometres.


    Residents whose homes were destroyed or severely damaged can apply for the State Government grants.


    Small business owners who suffered financially as a result of the cyclone due to road closures can also access payments.


    The following industry sectors are eligible:

    • small retailers such as specialty shops, hairdressers and bakeries;
    • tourism businesses including tour operators and fishing boat charters; and
    • hospitality venues including accommodation providers, cafés, restaurants and pubs. 

    The eligible local governments are Carnamah, Carnarvon, Chapman Valley, Coorow, Dalwallinu, Dandaragan, Greater Geraldton, Irwin, Koorda, Mingenew, Morawa, Mount Marshall, Northampton, Perenjori, Shark Bay and Three Springs.


    Residential payments can be accessed through the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development's website at https://agric.smartygrants.com.au/Residential_relief


    Applications for small business are open on the Small Business Development Corporation's website at http://www.smallbusiness.wa.gov.au/seroja


    Applications for the grants opened last week, and close on June 30, 2021.


    Comments attributed to Emergency Services Minister Reece Whitby:


    "The devastation caused by this cyclone is unlike anything else seen in Western Australia, with an impact area of more than 133,000 square kilometres.


    "As further assessments have been carried out, the true extent of the damage caused by Tropical Cyclone Seroja has become clear and the areas eligible for State Government relief have been expanded.


    "Extending eligibility to the shires of Carnarvon, Irwin and Koorda will ensure consistency with the Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements.


    "The recovery will take some time, but the State Government is committed to helping Mid-West communities rebuild.


    "I urge eligible residents and business-owners to apply for the $4,000 grants to ease the financial burden during this difficult time."


    Comments attributed to Agricultural Region MLC Sandra Carr:


    "The damage caused by this cyclone is being felt right across the Mid-West and I am pleased more areas will have the opportunity to benefit from the State Government's emergency relief package.


    "This funding will lend a helping hand to those hardest hit by Cyclone Seroja as local communities work to get back on track."


    Minister's office - 6552 6300