Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Deputy Premier; Minister for State Development, Jobs and Trade; Tourism; Commerce; Science

    Rockingham aged care nurse wins 2020 Nurse of the Year

    16/05/2021 7:00 AM
    • ​Aged Care Transition and Liaison Nurse at Rockingham General Hospital honoured as 2020 Nurse of the Year
    • 13 exceptional Western Australian nurses and midwives honoured in individual categories
    • Winners selected from a highly competitive field of 34 finalists

    A nurse from the Rockingham Peel Health Group has been named Western Australia's Nurse of the Year for 2020.


    Aged Care Transition and Liaison Nurse Deborah Jones also won the category award for Excellence in Primary, Public and Community Care. Ms Jones took out the awards at the WA Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards (WANMEA), held on the weekend at Rockingham General Hospital.


    Ms Jones has been involved in a project that aims to achieve sustainable outcomes for older adults at risk of readmission to hospital. She works closely with patients as they are discharged from hospital ensuring they transition safely from acute care to home.


    Ms Jones' work has led to a decline in adverse outcomes and readmission to hospital with patients reporting improved understanding of their medical conditions and medications.


    A further 12 of WA's most accomplished nurses and midwives from across public and private health and the education sector received awards across 12 individual categories.


    Two new Lifetime Achievement Honour Awards recipients - Professor Gavin Leslie and Professor Rhonda Marriott - were also announced. The professors were honoured for the significant impact they had made to the nursing and midwifery professions on a local, national and international level.


    The Health Hub Team, Pilbara Population Health, won the Excellence in Person-Centred Care team award for bridging the gap in access to primary health care while improving engagement satisfaction among Aboriginal populations. 


    The efforts of WA nurses deployed to Victoria to assist with the State's COVID-19 response last year were also recognised at the awards event.


    A full list of WANMEA winners can be found at http://www.wanmea.com.au


    Comments attributed to Health Minister Roger Cook:


    "The WA Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards provide Western Australians with the opportunity to publicly acknowledge the approximately 38,000 nurses and midwives across the State working in private, public and non-government sectors.  


    "Each nurse and midwife has been nominated by colleagues or patients for making a significant difference to their professions and organisations, and to the health and wellbeing of the Western Australian community.


    "I congratulate all winners and finalists and thank them for striving for excellence in their professions and for their commitment to the health and wellbeing of patients and the community."


    Minister's office - 6552 6500