Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Hon Reece Whitby MLA

Minister for Environment; Climate Action; Racing and Gaming

    Joint media statement - Disaster assistance extended to more communities impacted by severe tropical cyclone Seroja

    17/04/2021 1:45 PM

    Disaster assistance has been extended to the local government areas of Carnamah, Coorow, Dandaragan, Mingenew, Mount Marshall, Perenjori and Three Springs following widespread damage caused by Tropical Cyclone Seroja.


    Assistance is now being provided to 13 local government areas through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) - Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Coorow, Dalwallinu, Dandaragan, Greater Geraldton, Mingenew, Morawa, Mount Marshall, Northampton, Perenjori, Shark Bay and Three Springs.


    Minister for Emergency Management David Littleproud said Tropical Cyclone Seroja had left a devastating trail of destruction and assistance is being extended as the scale of the damage continues to become clearer.


    "People have lost their homes, their businesses and their livelihoods and need some help to get them back on their feet," Minister Littleproud said.


    "The assistance will also help councils with the costs of cleaning up the significant green waste and debris left over roads and to repair damaged infrastructure.


    "The Australian Government will continue to work closely with the Western Australian Government to extend assistance to more affected communities if needed."


    Western Australian Minister for Emergency Services Reece Whitby said the tropical cyclone devastated a widespread area, from Kalbarri to Southern Cross.


    "Assessments are ongoing and we expect damage reports to continue to grow as emergency service personnel make their way through the area.


    "Tropical Cyclone Seroja has taken a heavy toll on communities in the Mid-West, Gascoyne and Goldfields Midlands, both physically but also emotionally.


    "The past few days have been incredibly challenging for people in impacted communities and we will continue to support them in facing future challenges on the long road to recovery."


    Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

    • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged
    • Support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets
    • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses and primary producers, and
    • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

    Information on disaster assistance is available on the Australian Government's Disaster Assist website at http://www.disasterassist.gov.au


    Emergency Services Minister's office - 6552 6300