Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Minister for Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage

    Lotterywest grants presented to arts organisations

    18/01/2021 3:30 PM
    • ​Almost $700,000 in Lotterywest cheques presented to arts organisations
    • Chamber of Arts and Culture WA receive $323,351 to support the sector respond to crises
    • CircuitWest receive $376,000 grant for professional development program

    Two culture and the arts organisations will share in more than $699,000 in Lotterywest funding to build the capacity of the sector.


    Culture and the Arts Minister David Templeman today presented grant certificates to arts advocacy body the Chamber of Arts and Culture WA, and performing arts touring and service organisation CircuitWest.


    The Chamber of Arts and Culture WA will receive $323,351 to support their work with arts and culture organisations to improve their capacity to respond to future crises and opportunities.


    CircuitWest will receive $376,000 to deliver a year-long professional development and capacity building program to 30 community theatres across the State.


    Accepting the grant certificates on their organisations' behalf were Shelagh Magadza from the Chamber and Ryan Taaffe from CircuitWest.


    Comments attributed to Culture and the Arts Minister David Templeman:


    "I am delighted to present these cheques to two organisations that play such a crucial role in the arts and cultural sector.


    "The sector has been hit hard by COVID-19 - this funding will support their capacity to future-proof itself in what may continue to be uncertain times.


    "We are fortunate in WA to have the only lottery in Australia, and one of the few in the world, where all profits are returned directly back to the local community.


    "It is thanks to those that play Lotterywest games and the small businesses who sell them that we can support arts organisations like CircuitWest and the Chamber."


    Minister's office - 6552 5400