Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations

    Statement from Premier Mark McGowan

    7/12/2020 11:05 AM

    In accordance with usual practice, the Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia has today prorogued State Parliament.


    Current Bills that have not passed through either house of State Parliament must now be introduced in the next session, following the State election on March 13, 2021.


    Parliamentary committees will also be suspended.


    The Legislative Assembly will be formally dissolved in late January, at that point the 40th Parliament will cease to exist and a new Parliament will be sworn in after the election on March 13.


    Under Western Australia's fixed terms of Parliament legislation, the State election writs will be issued on February 3, 2021 and the caretaker period will then commence.


    I thank all Members of the 40th Parliament for their contribution over the past four years, particularly throughout 2020 as we have worked to keep Western Australia safe during the COVID-19 pandemic.


    During this term of Government, 140 Bills passed through the Parliament including landmark voluntary assisted dying legislation; the WA Jobs Act; laws to progress METRONET; major reforms to simplify WA's planning systems; no body, no parole laws; laws to support victims of child sexual abuse to seek compensation and redress; industrial manslaughter legislation; laws to stop the predatory behaviour of wheel clampers; comprehensive reform of family and domestic violence laws; overturned historical convictions of LGBTIQ people; improved detention or supervision orders for high risk offenders; major environmental reforms such as the container deposit scheme and a ban on plastic bags; laws to dramatically reduce the number of people imprisoned for failure to pay fines; and countless pieces of COVID-19 legislation to support Western Australians and keep the community safe.


    I would also like to acknowledge the Members who are retiring from State Parliament following the State election and wish them well as they embark on the next chapter in their lives. 


    Premier's office - 6552 5000