Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Education and Training

    Beazley Medals recognise WA’s top Year 12 students

    22/12/2020 10:00 AM
    • Beazley Medals won by students from Christ Church Grammar School and Wesley College
    • Today's awards include 50 General Exhibitions and 41 Subject Exhibitions 

    Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery announced the winners of the 2020 Beazley Medals today.


    Ms Ellery met the medallists and their families together with the Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia, who hosted the presentation at Government House this morning.


    The Beazley Medal is named after the Governor's father, Kim Edward Beazley, a former teacher and Federal Minister for Education.


    Josh Green, a student from Christ Church Grammar School and Luke de Laeter who attended Wesley College, won the prestigious medals.


    Josh won the Beazley Medal: Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE) for the highest examination marks across five ATAR courses in Year 12.


    Josh has also won a General Exhibition, a Subject Exhibition in Mathematics Methods, a Certificate of Excellence in Literature, Mathematics Methods and Modern History and a Certificate of Distinction.


    Luke has been awarded the Beazley Medal: Vocational Education and Training (VET) based on his outstanding Year 12 performance in a VET program.


    Luke received the Beazley Medal: VET based on his Certificate III in Beekeeping. He also achieved a Certificate III in Business, Certificate II in Visual Arts, Certificate II in Information, Digital Media and Technology as well as receiving 'A' grades for all of his courses across Years 11 and 12.


    In total, 3937 awards were won in 2020, including fifty (50) General Exhibitions and forty-one (41) Subject Exhibitions.


    The schools with the highest number of general exhibition winners were Perth Modern School (21) and Willetton Senior High School (5).


    The top five schools with the highest number of awards were Perth Modern School, Rossmoyne Senior High School, Willetton Senior High School, Churchlands Senior High School and Shenton College.


    For a complete list of award winners, visit http://www.scsa.wa.edu.au


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "Thanks to their hard work and dedication, our Beazley Medallists are well placed to take advantage of many opportunities moving forward with their education and careers.


    "Josh and Luke are our highest achievers in 2020 and another example of Western Australia's outstanding education system.


    "They deserve to be acknowledged for their many hours of commitment over many years.


    "I applaud the efforts of all our Year 12 students who have completed their secondary studies this year and wish them all the best for their future endeavours.


    "More than 11,500 students sat at least four ATAR examinations and every student who has won an award today is to be congratulated."


    Comments attributed to the Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia:


    "The Beazley Medal is the highest honour a senior secondary student in Western Australia can receive.


    "As Governor, I am proud to continue my Father's legacy in advocating for our State's education system and delighted to host the Beazley Medal presentation here at Government House for the second year.


    "In such a challenging year, I congratulate all Year 12 students for their resilience and their commitment to their studies.


    "Our Beazley Medallists Josh and Luke are an outstanding example of academic excellence in the secondary school system and should be an inspiration to all Western Australian high school students."


    Minister's office - 6552 5700