Hon Paul Papalia CSC MLA

Hon Paul Papalia CSC MLA

Minister for Police; Road Safety; Defence Industry; Veterans Issues

    Remote community’s call for liquor ban answered

    12/11/2020 1:45 PM
    • Kadjina Aboriginal community declared a liquor restricted area
    • State Government responds to calls from community to reduce alcohol-related harm
    • Liquor bans now in place in 26 communities 

    The McGowan Government has responded to local concerns and declared the community of Kadjina in the Shire of Derby-West Kimberley a liquor restricted area, taking the total number of communities with liquor bans in place up to 26.  


    Racing and Gaming Minister Paul Papalia implemented the ban under section 175 of the Liquor Control Act 1988, which prohibits liquor from being brought into, possessed or consumed in the area.


    Kadjina is located on Millijidee Station, about 190kms south-west of Fitzroy Crossing. It has a population of around 50-90 people.


    The restrictions came into place on November 7 as a means of reducing alcohol-related harm in the community, following calls from community leaders to introduce regulations.


    Consultation was undertaken with community leaders on the proposal and its capacity to reduce social and physical harm related to excessive alcohol consumption.


    The move was supported by WA Police and the Shire, with the restrictions to be in place for the next five years.


    Comments attributed to Racing and Gaming Minister Paul Papalia:


    "Kadjina residents have the right to feel safe in their community and I'm pleased that community leaders have taken charge of this issue by raising their concerns.


    "The McGowan Government has responded by introducing the liquor ban, which we know has been successful in reducing harm caused by excessive alcohol consumption in comparable communities.


    "Alcohol abuse can have devastating impacts on remote communities and section 175 restrictions give community leaders the power to combat these destructive behaviours head on."


    Minister's office - 6552 5600