Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Deputy Premier; Minister for Health; Medical Research; State Development, Jobs and Trade; Science

    New South Metropolitan Health Service Board Chair and members announced

    13/11/2020 8:00 AM
    • Adjunct Associate Professor Robyn Collins appointed as South Metropolitan Health Service Board Chair
    • Ms Kim Gibson appointed as new Deputy Chair
    • Mr Colin Murphy PSM appointed as new member

    The State Government has approved the appointment of new Board leadership for the South Metropolitan Health Service (SMHS), the accountable authority for the delivery of hospital and community-based services to nearly a quarter of Western Australia's population.


    Adj Assoc. Prof Robyn Collins has been appointed to the Chairperson role, which was recently vacated by Mr Rob McDonald, for a period of three years.


    Adj Assoc. Prof Collins has served as Deputy Chair since her appointment to the inaugural Board in 2016 and as Acting Chair since July 2020.


    Prior to that, Adj Assoc. Prof Collins was Deputy Chair of the South Metropolitan Health Service Governing Council from 2012 to 2015.


    Adj Assoc. Prof Collins has an extensive career as a clinician and leader working in a broad range of governance, strategic, operational and financial management environments.


    Until early June 2019, Adj Assoc. Prof Collins was the Western Australian State Manager of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency.


    She was also the Chief Executive Officer of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Western Australia and has held senior positions within the WA Health system.


    Ms Kim Gibson, another inaugural Board member, has been appointed as the new Deputy Chair.


    Ms Gibson is the Chair of the Physiotherapy Board of Australia, and her career in health spans 30 years across clinical practice, clinical education, health and professional regulation, health reform, health service management and governance.


    The Board will welcome Mr Colin Murphy PSM as a new member.


    Mr Murphy was Auditor General of Western Australia between 2006 and 2018 and his career has also included senior executive finance and administrative roles across a range of State and Commonwealth Government departments, and he continues to serve on a number of Boards.


    Mr Murphy was awarded the Public Service Medal in Australia Day Honours in 2010.


    Existing Board members, Mr Julian Henderson and Ms Sue Le Souef have been reappointed, supporting stability at Board level.


    Comments attributed to the Health Minister Roger Cook:


    "I am delighted to announce the appointment of Adj Assoc. Prof Collins as Board Chair, continuing her commitment to ensuring efficient Board performance for the South Metropolitan Health Service.


    "Adj Assoc. Prof Collins has a long-standing working relationship with the Health Service and has acted as the Chair since the departure of Rob McDonald in July 2020.


    "I extend my gratitude to Mr McDonald for his commitment as Board Chair since its inception in 2016 and wish him well for his future endeavours.


    "I would also like to congratulate Ms Kim Gibson on her appointment as Deputy Chair, and Mr Julian Henderson and Ms Sue Le Souef for their re-appointments.


    "Finally, I welcome the appointment of Mr Colin Murphy, whose extensive experience will prove a major asset to the SMHS Board."


    Minister's office - 6552 6500