Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Minister for Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage

    Landmark Government icon given permanent place in State heritage

    18/11/2020 6:00 AM
    • Parliament House now permanently included in the State Register of Heritage Places
    • Registration recognises 116-year history as the seat of democracy in Western Australia
    • Iconic building and landscaped grounds form part of historic civic precinct of Perth 

    The epicentre of Western Australia's democracy has been permanently included in the State Register of Heritage Places.


    One of the State's most important and well recognised landmarks, Parliament House overlooks St Georges Terrace and the Swan River and was built in stages under the direction of then Public Works Chief Architect J H Grainger.


    The Harvest Terrace façade, including the two Parliamentary chambers, was completed by 1904 before construction stopped as successive governments focused on boosting the supply of housing, hospitals and schools following the economic depression and two World Wars.


    For nearly 60 years, Parliament House stood untouched until 1958 when construction started on the iconic three-storey eastern façade with its stone and tile columns.


    Parliament House and its grounds are an integral component of a historic civic precinct encompassing the former Hale School, the Old Observatory and Dumas House. It has provided a stately venue for civic ceremonies and functions for more than a century, also serving as a meeting point for public protests, rallies and press conferences.


    Parliament House is built on Kaarta Cumba, otherwise known as Mount Eliza, an important place for Whadjuk Noongar people. The area contains several registered Aboriginal heritage sites with significant ceremonial and spiritual associations.


    Parliament House is unique for its ability to tell the story of democracy in WA and was added to the register on an interim basis in 2004.


    Comments attributed to Heritage Minister David Templeman:


    "Parliament House is a landmark building that provides an important physical and symbolic presence of democracy and decision making in Western Australia, and I am pleased to finalise registration of this place in the State Heritage Register.


    "The building and grounds have provided a backdrop for displays of freedom of speech for the Western Australian community for more than a century.


    "Since the opening of Parliament House in 1904, 819 Members of Parliament and thousands of staff that support them have been through its doors and taken a seat in its chambers.


    "This is a unique place which represents our shared history, the democratic system and freedom of speech valued by all Western Australians and many significant decisions that have changed the course of history and shaped our community as we know it today."


    Minister's office - 6552 5400