Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Education and Training

    First school inducted into Hall of Fame at Governor’s School STEM Awards

    24/11/2020 4:00 PM
    • Five schools celebrated for outstanding leadership and teaching in STEM
    • Brookman Primary School inducted into the Governor's School STEM Awards Hall of Fame after winning top prize for third year running
    • Success linked to WA Government's commitment to driving STEM skills in WA

    Science Minister Dave Kelly today announced the induction of the first school into the Hall of Fame for the State's flagship school science, technology, engineering and mathematics education (STEM) awards.


    Brookman Primary School in the Perth suburb of Langford, was today inducted after winning the primary schools category of the Governor's School STEM Awards for the third year in a row.


    Four public schools and one private school received prizes in the 2020 awards, announced today at a ceremony at Government House by Governor of Western Australia, the Hon. Kim Beazley AC.


    Judges praised Brookman Primary School for its ongoing commitment to STEM professional development and extensive mentoring of other schools.


    The Governor's School STEM Awards, now in their sixth year, recognise outstanding school leadership and teaching in STEM disciplines, which help students develop skills for the future such as critical thinking and problem solving.


    Ashdale Secondary College took out the top prize in the secondary schools category for exhibiting strong STEM culture among educators, students and leadership teams across all learning areas.


    Meritorious Leadership Awards went to Sacred Heart Primary School, Cecil Andrews College and Hampton Senior High School.


    Brookman Primary and Cecil Andrews College are also participating in the Department of Education's STEM professional learning and mentoring program, funded under the WA Government's State STEM skills strategy.


    The Governor's School STEM Awards further add to the McGowan Government's $20 million investment in a range of other initiatives that are boosting STEM participation in schools.


    These include the Take 2 STEM campaign, the STEM Enterprise Schools program and the development of science programs in up to 200 public primary schools, including resources to create science labs and make coding part of the school curriculum.


    For more information about the Governor's School STEM Awards, visit http://www.scitech.org.au/


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Dave Kelly:


    "Congratulations to the winners and runners-up at this year's Governor's School STEM Awards.


    "It's fantastic to see schools across WA truly embrace a culture that increases student participation in and enthusiasm for STEM.


    "The McGowan Government has made building STEM skills a priority under the State STEM skills strategy, including the Take 2 STEM advertising campaign initiated this year, and the schools recognised through these awards prove the investment is paying off."


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "I congratulate Brookman Primary School for winning the Leadership Excellence Award for the third year running, and for being the first school to be inducted into the Governor's School STEM Awards Hall of Fame.


    "Passionate school leadership makes a difference in getting students excited about STEM inquiry and problem solving.


    "I am pleased to see a wide range of schools being recognised for their successes integrating STEM into their learning."


    Comments attributed to Governor of Western Australia the Hon. Kim Beazley AC:


    "Congratulations to all of the winners, runners-up and finalists in this year's Governor's School STEM Awards, an initiative of my predecessor the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC.


    "I am proud of the school leadership teams recognised today for their unique STEM education initiatives which are engaging students and delivering outcomes critical to Western Australia's technological future.


    "To see Brookman Primary School entered into a new Hall of Fame for their achievements in this program over the last three years is testament to the success of the Awards and the school's strong STEM culture."


    Science Minister's office - 6552 6100

    Education and Training Minister's office - 6552 5700


    PrimaryLeadership Excellence Award (Winner) $2,000 prizeBrookman Primary SchoolLangford
    PrimaryMeritorious Leadership Award (Runner-up) $1,000 prizeSacred Heart Primary SchoolHighgate
    SecondaryLeadership Excellence Award (Winner) $2,000 prizeAshdale Secondary CollegeDarch
    SecondaryMeritorious Leadership Award (Joint Runner-up) $500 prizeHampton Senior High SchoolMorley
    SecondaryMeritorious Leadership Award (Joint Runner-up) $500 prizeCecil Andrews CollegeSeville Grove