Hon Ben Wyatt LLB MSc MLA

Hon Ben Wyatt LLB MSc MLA

Former Treasurer; Minister for Finance; Aboriginal Affairs; Lands

    Appointments to the Aboriginal Advisory Council extended for additional three years

    11/11/2020 10:00 AM
    • Aboriginal Advisory Council appointments extended for additional three years
    • Extensions to guarantee continuity following State election in early 2021 

    Aboriginal Affairs Minister Ben Wyatt has announced that members of the Aboriginal Advisory Council have been appointed for a further three years.


    The council, established under Section 18 of the Aboriginal Affairs Planning Authority Act 1972, is a strategic partner of the Western Australian Government and provides a critical contribution to the development of State priorities and policies relating to Aboriginal Affairs.


    The extension of appointments will enable the council to deliver on its strategic objectives and guarantee continuity following the next State election in early 2021.


    The council members are Gail Beck, Daniel Brown, Merle Carter, Linda Dridi, Jonathan Ford, Gordon Gray, Corina Martin, Vicki O'Donnell, Gail Reynolds Adamson, Peter Riley and Martin Sibosado.


    For further information about the council, visit https://www.wa.gov.au


    Comments attributed to Aboriginal Affairs Minister Ben Wyatt:


    "These 11 members of the Aboriginal Advisory Council are representative of the diversity of Aboriginal voices throughout the State.


    "They have worked with government on critical policy issues in the Aboriginal Affairs portfolio, including a proposal for a new representative voice and an independent office of accountability. 


    "The members also played a critical role in advising government on securing the health and safety of Aboriginal people during COVID-19.


    "I would like to congratulate the members for their achievements and ongoing work, and I look forward to continuing to work with them to reset the relationship between the State Government and Aboriginal people."


    Minister's office - 6552 5900