Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Former Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

    Water Awards recognise the top water industry performers for 2020

    24/10/2020 9:00 AM
    • Seven winners announced in the Australian Water Association WA Water Awards
    • Awards recognise innovation and excellence in Western Australian water industry

    Seven award winners were announced at last night's Australian Water Association Western Australian Water Awards, as part of this year's National Water Week celebrations.


    Water Minister Dave Kelly congratulated all award winners and finalists, and thanked them for their industry leadership and commitment to innovation and excellence.


    Syrinx Environmental and the Australian Fine China Project took out the Water Corporation and Department of Water and Environmental Regulation Innovating for Sustainable Water and Environmental Outcomes Award with its decentralised model for density infill developments.


    The Regional Infrastructure Project Innovation Award was won by Busselton Water and GHD for their Busselton Water Filtration Plant, while the Metro award went to SUEZ and the Water Corporation for the Beenyup Advanced Water Recycling Plant Stage 2.


    The Water Corporation was again a winner in the R&D Excellence Award, this time teaming up with CSIRO for the Naegleria Fowleri in Drinking Water Distribution Systems.


    Raveena Raju from the University of Western Australia received the Student Water Prize for her investigation into the optimisation and evaluation of smart ponds for sludge management.


    Busselton Water's Chris Elliott took out Water Professional of the Year and the Water Corporation's Kevin Massez the Young Water Professional of the Year Award.


    For more information on the WA Water Award winners, visit http://www.awa.asn.au


    Comments attributed to Water Minister Dave Kelly:
    "With climate change continuing to have a significant impact on our precious natural water resources, innovative projects and responsive policies are key to a secure water future for Western Australia.


    "These awards are an important recognition of the innovation and excellence that is happening across the State's water industry.


    "The outstanding achievements and collaboration shown by the award winners and finalists are critical to helping us respond to the challenges that climate change and population growth pose to our water resources.


    "I'd like to congratulate all of the winners and wish them the best as they now progress to compete in the National Ozwater Awards."

    Minister's office - 6552 6100