Hon Alannah MacTiernan MLC

Hon Alannah MacTiernan MLC

Minister for Regional Development; Agriculture and Food; Hydrogen Industry

    Direction set for the Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission

    28/08/2020 2:15 PM
    • Sabina Shugg appointed Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission Board Chairperson
    • Other appointments bring strong experience in community development and local government 

    Regional Development Minister Alannah MacTiernan today announced the appointment of Sabina Shugg as chairperson on the Board of the Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission.


    Ms Shugg is the Director for Curtin University's Kalgoorlie Campus, including the Western Australian School of Mines. Ms Shugg has an MBA from UWA and a degree in Mining Engineering from the Western Australian School of Mines.


    Outgoing chairperson Gail Reynolds-Adamson has completed her maximum six-year tenure on the Board.


    The Minister also appointed Terrence Winner as a community representative and extended Shaneane Weldon's term as local government representative.


    Mr Winner is the Chief Executive Officer of the Goldfields Individual and Family Support Association and Councillor with the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder. Ms Weldon is currently the chairperson for Pakaanu Aboriginal Corporation and Deputy Shire President of the Shire of Laverton.


    Comments attributed to Regional Development Minister Alannah MacTiernan:


    "Sabina is well equipped to lead the Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission, driving the regional development agenda with a focus on industry collaboration, Aboriginal Economic Development, enabling infrastructure and workforce development.


    "The State Government's commitment to economic diversification and local jobs are key to the direction set for the Goldfields-Esperance region.


    "I extend my great appreciation to outgoing chairperson Gail Reynolds-Adamson for her dedicated service to the Board and passion for the region."


    Minister's office - 6552 6200