Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

    2020 Premier’s Science Awards finalists announced

    4/08/2020 7:00 AM
    • 19 inspiring WA scientists named as finalists in Premier's Science Awards
    • McGowan Government prioritising Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) to encourage a globally competitive workforce
    • Winners to be announced on September 29, 2020 

    A total of 19 ground-breaking Western Australian scientists have been named as finalists in this year's Premier's Science Awards.


    The list of finalists in the awards, which recognise and celebrate the outstanding scientific research and engagement taking place across the State, was released on the eve of National Science Week (August 15-23).


    The awards cover all fields of science including medical, natural, applied and technological science, engineering and mathematics.


    This year's finalists include a scientist who has driven major advances in understanding the epigenome; a scientist who was a driving force behind the $50 million Murchison Widefield Array; and a scientist who has significantly advanced the understanding of fluid properties and its application to energy production, transport and storage.


    Premier's Science Award categories include:

    • Scientist of the Year ($50,000 prize);
    • Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize);
    • ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize);
    • Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year ($10,000 prize); and
    • Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year ($10,000 prize). 

    The winners of the Premier's Science Awards and the Western Australian Science Hall of Fame inductee will be announced on September 29, 2020.


    The awards are sponsored by Woodside Energy, Shell, Chevron, ExxonMobil, Telethon Kids Institute, Murdoch University, Edith Cowan University, University of Notre Dame, Curtin University and The University of Western Australia.


    For more information on the Premier's Science Awards, including the list of finalists, visit http://www.jtsi.wa.gov.au/scienceawards


    National Science Week, Australia's biggest annual STEM celebration, has gone online this year with physically distanced activities including interactive webinars and educational videos. Details about WA events are at https://www.inspiringwa.org.au/nationalscienceweek


    Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


    "The COVID-19 pandemic has made us all aware of the role science plays in our day-to-day lives and, now more than ever, we must recognise and celebrate the research and technological achievements of Western Australia's science community.


    "Strengthening participation in STEM has been prioritised by this Government to encourage a globally competitive workforce, with the skills to drive WA's technological future and create more jobs.


    "I would like to congratulate this year's finalists on their outstanding scientific achievements and the contributions they're making to foster an innovative STEM culture in Western Australia."


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Dave Kelly:


    "The ongoing prosperity of the State is heavily reliant on science, especially since the COVID-19 pandemic, and it's hoped these awards will inspire the next generation of Western Australian scientists.


    "This builds on the McGowan Government's recently announced 'Take 2 STEM' campaign to encourage more WA high school students to participate in a STEM future.


    "The finalists announced today represent our diverse scientific community, and all serve as role models for those who wish to make a positive contribution to society through STEM studies and careers."


    Premier's office - 6552 5000

    Science Minister's office - 6552 6100