Hon Paul Papalia CSC MLA

Hon Paul Papalia CSC MLA

Minister for Tourism; Racing and Gaming; Small Business; Defence Issues; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests

    Chairperson reappointed to Rottnest Island Authority board

    24/07/2020 4:40 PM
    • Chairperson John Langoulant reappointed for a further three years
    • Health, safety and environment professional Louise Watson joins RIA board
    • Minister thanks outgoing member Hannah Fitzhardinge

    Rottnest Island Authority Board Chairperson John Langoulant has been reappointed for a further three years to June 30, 2023.


    Mr Langoulant, first appointed as Chairperson in 2017, has extensive executive experience in the private and public sectors.


    He has served as the Western Australian Under Treasurer and as chief executive of Australian Capital Equity, the Western Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, and the Oakajee Port and Rail project.


    He is currently Chairperson at Infrastructure WA, the Government Employees Superannuation Board, the Northern Territory's Power and Water Corporation, Westpac Banking Group WA, Pawsey Supercomputer Centre, and the Dampier to Bunbury Gas Pipeline.


    Health, safety and environment professional Louise Watson also joins the board, replacing Hannah Fitzhardinge following her three-year term.


    Currently with Australian Gas Infrastructure Group, Ms Watson brings more than a decade of experience working on Western Australian projects encompassing mining, port, rail and pipelines. Her term expires June 30, 2023.


    Comments attributed to Tourism Minister Paul Papalia:


    "I am delighted that John has been reappointed as Chairperson of the Rottnest Island Authority board.


    "He has provided outstanding leadership for the authority, particularly during the very demanding COVID-19 period.


    "I'd like to welcome Louise onto the Board for her three-year term. Louise is enthusiastic about exploring Rottnest's natural environment and is committed to conserving what the island offers for all to enjoy.


    "I would also like to thank Hannah for work on the board over the past three years.

    Her experience, planning and passion were valuable to the team over her term."


    Minister's office - 6552 5600