Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

    Applications open for prestigious Premier’s Science Awards 2020

    11/03/2020 11:00 AM
    • McGowan Government raising science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) profile by celebrating local STEM superstars
    • Nominations for the 2020 Premier's Science Awards and WA Science Hall of Fame now open

    The McGowan Government is calling for the nominations of Western Australian STEM superstars for the 2020 Premier's Science Awards. 


    The awards celebrate the achievements of WA's leaders and high achieving up-and-comers in STEM.


    Award categories include: Scientist of the Year, Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year, ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year, Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year and Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year.


    Winners will be announced at a ceremony during National Science Week in August, with the Scientist of the Year taking away $50,000 and other category winners each receiving $10,000.


    Nominations are also open to induct a prominent Western Australian scientist into the WA Science Hall of Fame, which will also be announced at the August awards ceremony.


    Professor Phil Bland of Curtin University and Professor Robert Newton of Edith Cowan University were joint winners of the 2019 Scientist of the Year Award for advancing understanding of the solar system and improving the quality of life for cancer survivors respectively.


    The awards are sponsored by Chevron, ExxonMobil, Shell and Woodside and supported by the State's five universities.


    Applications close on April 29, 2020. For information, visit http://www.jtsi.wa.gov.au/scienceawards


    Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


    "Science, technology, engineering and mathematics are vital in growing our economy and creating the jobs of the future.


    "These awards acknowledge the exceptional achievements of the State's leading scientists, and celebrate the often life-changing contributions they make to the Western Australian community.


    "I encourage members of the STEM community to apply for the awards and help us uncover the wealth of talent in the State across research, tertiary studies and community engagement."


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Dave Kelly:


    "STEM is central to the advancement of our community.


    "In Western Australia we are lucky enough to have some of the brightest STEM minds around the world working to better our community.


    "Their achievements and contributions deserve to be recognised and promoted.


    "By highlighting their contributions we also hope to encourage Western Australians from all walks of life about the importance of learning STEM skills for the jobs of the future."


    Minister's office - 6552 6100