Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

    Popular Community Support Program increased as new round opens

    10/02/2020 9:10 AM
    • Forest Products Commission (FPC) grants of up to $2,000 now open to community organisations
    • Enthusiastic response in previous grant round leads to increase in number of grants available
    • Applications close on March 16, 2020 

    Forestry Minister Dave Kelly has today announced the Forest Products Commission's (FPC) Community Support Program has been expanded due to its popularity, as he opened applications for the 2020 grant round.


    The Program, now in its third year, has delivered $50,000 in grants to 33 community organisations in its first two years. This year, another $40,000 is on offer, an increase in the annual grant pool of $10,000.


    Groups that have benefitted from grants in the first two rounds include a primary school for a tree planting and sustainability day, a group that improved forest accessibility for people with disabilities and a local fire brigade to construct a wash down bay for fire trucks and vehicles.


    Preference is given to applications that contribute the greatest benefit to regional communities, encourage recreation in State forests or educate the community about the benefits of forestry and the timber industry.


    Applications open today and close on March 16, 2020. For more information, visit https://www.fpc.wa.gov.au


    Comments attributed to Forestry Minister Dave Kelly:


    "The McGowan Government is committed to supporting projects and initiatives that provide long lasting benefits to regional communities.


    "Last year, there were some terrific projects that were funded through the Community Support Program, so with the increase this year we are hoping to be able to support even more initiatives and projects across regional WA.


    "In the last financial year the Forest Products Commission contributed $117 million to regional Western Australia and continues to support communities across the State."


    Minister's office - 6552 6100