Hon Francis Logan BA (Hons) MLA

Hon Francis Logan BA (Hons) MLA

Former Minister for Emergency Services; Corrective Services

    Joint media statement - Disaster assistance after Tropical Cyclone Damien

    18/02/2020 10:45 AM

    Disaster assistance has been made available to the Karratha, Port Hedland and Ashburton Shire councils to help with clean up and repairs after Tropical Cyclone Damien.


    Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements.


    The Minister for Emergency Management David Littleproud said the assistance would make sure Pilbara communities bounced back quickly after the cyclone.


    "Both the Commonwealth and the State will be picking up part of the bill to fix key local roads and community infrastructure," Minister Littleproud said.


    "Reconnecting parts of the community by fixing roads helps speed up the overall recovery.


    "We will continue to stand by these communities and will make more assistance available if needed."


    Western Australian Minister for Emergency Services Francis Logan visited the Pilbara last week where he saw the extent of the damage first hand.


    "The effects of the destructive nature of Tropical Cyclone Damien have been felt across the region," Minister Logan said.


    "When I visited the Pilbara, I saw resilient communities working hard to recover from the impacts of this cyclone and get back on their feet as soon as they can.


    "Ongoing flooding means it could take weeks to assess the full extent of the damage, particularly to the road network, which is why this immediate support is so important.


    "The Commonwealth and Western Australian governments will continue to monitor the impacts of Tropical Cyclone Damien and are ready to extend disaster assistance to communities in need."


    Information on disaster assistance is available on the Federal website disasterassist.gov.au or at the WA Government site https://www.dfes.wa.gov.au/recovery/Pages/WANDRRA.aspx


    Emergency Services Minister's office - 6552 6300