Hon Bill Johnston MLA

Hon Bill Johnston MLA

Minister for Mines and Petroleum; Energy; Corrective Services; Industrial Relations

    MRIWA welcomes new chairperson

    11/01/2020 7:00 AM
    • Miriam Stanborough appointed as MRIWA chairperson effective January 1, 2020
    • Hailey Adams-Packer appointed as member of the MRIWA board

    Mines and Petroleum Minister Bill Johnston today announced the appointment of Miriam Stanborough as the new chairperson of the Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia (MRIWA) and welcomed Hailey Adams-Packer as a member of the board.


    Ms Stanborough is well positioned to lead the organisation with her detailed knowledge and experience working in Western Australia's minerals sector.


    She has more than 20 years of experience working for mining and METS companies including Monadelphous Engineering Associates, Iluka Resources and Alcoa of Australia; and has been a member of the MRIWA board since 2017. 


    Ms Stanborough's appointment is effective from January 1, 2020 for a three-year period and she succeeds Denise Goldsworthy.


    Ms Adams-Packer has worked in the public sector for more than 15 years in a variety of policy and leadership roles; she succeeds Jane Hammond.


    Helen Cook has been reappointed as MRIWA deputy chairperson, having been a member of the board since its inception in 2014. Ms Cook and Ms Adams-Packer's appointments are for a three-year period commencing on February 1, 2020.


    Comments attributed to Mines and Petroleum Minister Bill Johnston:


    "I would like to congratulate Miriam Stanborough and Hailey Adams-Packer on their appointments.


    "With these appointments MRIWA is well positioned to continue its strong relationship with industry, academia and government, encouraging innovation and investment in activities that will maintain Western Australia's reputation as a world leader in the minerals sector.


    "I would like to thank Denise Goldsworthy and Jane Hammond for their leadership and contributions while on the MRIWA board. 


    "The McGowan Government continues to implement its commitment to ensure women make up 50 per cent of board and committee positons."


    Minister's office - 6552 6700