Hon Francis Logan BA (Hons) MLA

Hon Francis Logan BA (Hons) MLA

Former Minister for Emergency Services; Corrective Services

Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Minister for Emergency Services; Innovation and ICT; Medical Research; Volunteering

    Emergency services personnel recognised in Australia Day Honours

    26/01/2020 12:00 AM
    • Four emergency services personnel from Western Australia recognised in national honours
    • Volunteer and career officers awarded for bushfire management, improving community safety, and leadership 

    Four emergency services personnel from Western Australia have been awarded the Australian Fire Services Medal or Emergency Services Medal in this year's Australia Day Honours.


    The AFSM and ESM are awarded to personnel who have shown outstanding commitment, innovation and dedication to creating safer communities through their emergency services roles.


    The AFSM was awarded to Department of Fire and Emergency Services Superintendent Mark Bowen for his commitment to identifying and improving the way WA manages bushfires and his extensive experience in managing high-level incidents.


    Richard Lawrey from the Mundaring Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service, who has over 45 years of experience on the fire ground, was awarded the AFSM for his dedication to improving bushfire response and home fire safety in the Shire of Mundaring.


    Dr Neil Douglas Burrows formerly of the Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions' Parks and Wildlife Service received the AFSM for his work in fire behaviour and ecology to help reduce the bushfire risk.


    An ESM was awarded to Swan State Emergency Services volunteer Ronald (Tex) McPherson for his widely respected leadership and unwavering commitment to helping the community prepare for and recover from emergencies.


    Comments attributed to Emergency Services Minister Francis Logan:


    "On behalf of the Western Australian community, I would like to congratulate the Australian Fire Services Medal and Emergency Services Medal recipients.


    "It's a prestigious honour to be recognised in the Australia Day Honours and I thank Mr Bowen, Mr Lawrey, Mr McPherson and Dr Burrows for their many years of service to the Western Australian community.


    "I commend them on their selfless actions as well as their contribution to improving how we prevent, prepare for and respond to emergencies."


    Comments attributed to Environment Minister Stephen Dawson:


    "Congratulations to all the recipients for receiving national recognition of your significant efforts that has helped to make Western Australia a safer State.


    "In particular, I would like to thank Dr Burrows for his studies into fire behaviour and ecology to try to help reduce bushfire risks.


    "It is our dedicated scientists, volunteers, bushfire practitioners and many others who make the difference in managing bushfire risks in Western Australia, so it is fantastic to see national recognition of their efforts."


    Emergency Services Minister's office - 6552 6300

    Environment Minister's office - 6552 5800