Hon Francis Logan BA (Hons) MLA

Hon Francis Logan BA (Hons) MLA

Former Minister for Emergency Services; Corrective Services

    $5.5 million assistance for local governments to mitigate bushfire risks

    29/01/2020 11:00 AM
    • Twenty-three regional local governments allocated almost $5.5 million to reduce bushfire risks
    • Assistance part of State Government's $15 million Mitigation Activity Fund supported by Royalties for Regions
    • 714 mitigation activities to be carried out with State Government funding assistance 

    More than 700 bushfire risks across 23 regional local governments are set to be treated following the recent grant allocation of nearly $5.5 million of State Government funding assistance.


    The successful local governments, from the north-west of the State to the Great Southern region, will carry out 714 mitigation activities to reduce bushfire risks in their areas.


    This latest round of funding assistance is part of the State Government's $15 million Mitigation Activity Fund supported by Royalties for Regions.


    The Royalties for Regions mitigation funding was introduced in 2017.


    So far 58 grants totalling more than $10 million have been allocated to 26 local governments, with endorsed Bushfire Risk Management Plans, to treat more than 1,500 bushfire risks in their areas.


    Mitigation activities include mechanical and chemical treatments to reduce fuel levels, creating firebreaks, and conducting hazard-reduction burns.


    Local governments should visit http://www.dfes.wa.gov.au for more information on future Mitigation Activity Fund grant rounds as well as how to prepare a Bushfire Risk Management Plan to identify bushfire risks in their area.


    Comments attributed to Emergency Services Minister Francis Logan:


    "The Mitigation Activity Fund is making a significant difference to local governments throughout Western Australia with over 1,500 mitigation treatments carried out so far through the Royalties for Regions program.


    "It is great to see that nearly $5.5 million has been allocated this funding round to 23 regional local governments to treat 714 bushfire risks throughout the Pilbara, Wheatbelt, South-West and Great Southern.


    "The McGowan Government has made an unprecedented investment in boosting the level of mitigation throughout Western Australia and providing funding support for our local governments.


    "For every dollar we invest in mitigation, we save $11 in emergency management so not only does it make sense to reduce the chances of catastrophic bushfires and the effects they have on communities, but it also makes financial sense.


    "Since 2017, the State Government has allocated more than $10 million to 26 local governments under the Mitigation Activity Fund supported by Royalties for Regions.


    "There are more rounds to come, so I would encourage all local governments throughout WA to get an endorsed Bushfire Risk Management Plan in place and apply for mitigation activity funding to reduce their bushfire risks and boost their chances of avoiding a catastrophic bushfire in the future."


    Minister's office - 6552 6300


    Local governmentAmount allocatedNumber of activities
    Shire of Augusta Margaret River $     353,000.00 29
    Shire of Beverley $       74,700.00 11
    Shire of Boddington $       78,000.00 6
    Shire of Boyup Brook $     163,830.00 29
    Shire of Bridgetown Greenbushes $     273,535.00 30
    Shire of Dardanup $     209,615.00 43
    Shire of Denmark $     335,000.00 44
    Shire of Donnybrook Balingup $     163,320.00 27
    Shire of Gingin $     270,685.00 26
    Shire of Irwin $         6,000.00 6
    Shire of Jerramungup $     103,150.00 62
    City of Karratha $       19,980.00 9
    Shire of Manjimup $     395,600.00 48
    Shire of Nannup $     221,500.00 11
    Shire of Northam $     282,327.00 58
    Shire of Northampton $       90,000.00 3
    Shire of Ravensthorpe $     219,300.00 61
    Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale $     418,990.00 24
    Shire of Toodyay $  1,092,800.00 131
    Shire of Wagin $       65,200.00 6
    Shire of Williams $       50,000.00 3
    Shire of Woodanilling $       82,500.00 7
    Shire of York $     481,250.00 40
      $ 5,450,282.00 714