Hon Bill Johnston MLA

Hon Bill Johnston MLA

Minister for Mines and Petroleum; Energy; Corrective Services

    New WorkCover chairperson appointed

    19/12/2019 10:00 AM
    • ​Sharryn Jackson appointed new WorkCover WA chairperson  
    • Minister Johnston thanks outgoing chairperson Greg Joyce

    Industrial Relations Minister Bill Johnston is pleased to announce that Sharryn Jackson has been appointed as the new chairperson of WorkCover WA, effective from January 4, 2020 for a three-year term.


    Ms Jackson has broad experience in government and community services including extensive board governance and strategy experience relevant to industrial relations, workplace health and safety and workers' compensation. 


    She replaces Greg Joyce, who has chosen not to seek reappointment after contributing almost 15 years as the WorkCover WA chairperson.


    In other appointments, Llewellyn Jones has been appointed the nominee member experienced in insurance matters for a three-year term from January 4, 2020.


    Mr Jones has more than 10 years of experience in the Western Australian workers' compensation scheme.


    Victoria Wilmot has been reappointed as the nominee member experienced in accounting and financial management for a further three-year term from January 4, 2020.


    Comments attributed to Industrial Relations Minister Bill Johnston:


    "I'm pleased to announce and congratulate Sharryn Jackson, WorkCover WA's new chair.


    "I would also like to thank retiring chair Greg Joyce after 15 years of leading the WorkCover WA board.


    "Mr Joyce has made an outstanding contribution to ensuring the strong performance and stability of the State's workers' compensation scheme.


    "I also acknowledge outgoing board member Steven Burns who brought a deep knowledge of the insurance industry to the WorkCover board.


    "I thank him for his service and wish him well for the future."


    Minister's office - 6552 6700