Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Education and Training

    Students bound for Darwin and Singapore for war commemorations

    11/11/2019 10:00 AM
    • 17th annual Premier's ANZAC Student Tour participants announced
    • 10 students will commemorate the 78th anniversary of the bombing of Darwin and the Fall of Singapore

    Ten secondary school students with a strong interest in war history have been selected for an extraordinary trip to Darwin and Singapore for the 2020 Premier's Anzac Student Tour.


    Accompanied by two teachers and a tour coordinator, students will travel from April 16-26 to commemorate the 78th anniversary of the bombing of Darwin and the Fall of Singapore in 2020.


    This is the first time in the tour's 17-year history that students will visit Darwin.


    As part of the 10-day tour, students will be immersed in history with visits to significant sites including WWII Oil Storage Tunnels, the Causeway, Labrador Park, Fort Siloso, Johore Battery, Fort Canning and Changi Beach.


    Students will commemorate Anzac Day by attending the Dawn Service at Kranji War Memorial in northern Singapore.


    The Premier's Anzac Tour is an annual competition open to all Western Australian students in Years 8 to 11, who are selected following a written submission and interviews.


    Next year brings the number of students to 212 who have travelled on the tour.


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "The Premier's Anzac Tour allows young people to be steeped in history while providing them with an opportunity to commemorate the service and sacrifice of Australian servicemen and women.


    "The 10 students will strengthen their knowledge of Australian's military history with the tour group visiting Darwin for the first time, before heading overseas to Singapore.


    "I'm sure the students will come back with lasting memories and life-changing experiences that they will share with their peers, teachers and parents for years to come."


    Minister's office - 6552 5700