Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Education and Training

    Governor’s School STEM Awards won by country and city schools

    27/11/2019 7:00 AM
    • ​Governor's School STEM Awards recognise excellence in science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) education
    • Brookman Primary School and Melville Senior High School win Leadership Excellence awards
    • Pannawonica Primary School and Hale School win Meritorious Leadership awards

    Four schools, including one from the Pilbara, were yesterday celebrated at the 2019 Governor's School STEM Awards for their leadership and achievements in creating a positive school culture in science, technology, engineering and maths.


    Brookman Primary School and Melville Senior High School won Leadership Excellence Awards, while Pannawonica Primary School and Hale School took home Meritorious Leadership Awards (the runner-up prize).


    Brookman Primary was recognised for integrating STEM throughout school planning and classroom practice, as well as providing mentorship to other schools to do the same.


    Melville High's achievements include engaging industry and the local community to develop innovative programs that increase student achievement in and enthusiasm for STEM.


    Now in their fifth year, the awards recognise high quality school leadership and teaching in STEM disciplines, which help students develop critical thinking and problem solving skills.


    A priority for the McGowan Government is increasing student participation in STEM to help prepare them for job opportunities of the future. In May, The McGowan Government delivered on its election commitment to release the State's first STEM skills strategy.


    For more information about the awards, visit http://www.scitech.org.au


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Dave Kelly:


    "This is the first time a school from the Pilbara region has been recognised for outstanding STEM education through the Governor's School STEM Awards.


    "With the McGowan Government's State STEM skills strategy delivering more STEM opportunities for students across Western Australia, I hope to see many more regional schools feature in these awards in the future.


    "Students with STEM skills will be well equipped to take on the jobs of the future."


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "Passionate teachers and principals make all the difference in getting students excited about scientific inquiry and problem solving.


    "I am pleased to see that regional schools, public schools and schools from low socioeconomic areas are being recognised for their successes integrating STEM across the curriculum."


    Comments attributed to the Hon. Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia:


    "Congratulations to all of the winners, runners-up and finalists in this year's awards.


    "It was a pleasure to meet principals from around Western Australia who are committed to finding new, innovative ways to engage students with STEM skills.


    "I thank the two judging panels, chaired by Ms Roslyn Kay and Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO."


    Minister's office - 6552 6100


    PrimaryLeadership Excellence Award (Winner) $2,000 prizeBrookman Primary SchoolLangford
    PrimaryMeritorious Leadership Award (Runner-up) $1,000 prizePannawonica Primary SchoolPannawonica
    PrimaryFinalistBaynton West Primary SchoolBaynton (near Karratha)
    SecondaryLeadership Excellence Award (Winner) $2,000 prizeMelville Senior High SchoolMelville
    SecondaryMeritorious Leadership Award (Runner-up) $1,000 prizeHale SchoolWembley Downs
    SecondaryFinalistCecil Andrews CollegeSeville Grove
    SecondaryFinalistPresbyterian Ladies' CollegePeppermint Grove