Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Minister for Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage

    Town of Port Hedland will hold elections in October 2020

    30/10/2019 10:05 AM
    • Member positions at the Town of Port Hedland vacated
    • Commissioner the Hon Fredrick Riebeling will continue to administer the town until elections in 2020
    • Following recent local government elections on October 19 the Town lacked a quorum

    A lack of quorum at the Town of Port Hedland has prompted Local Government Minister David Templeman to request the Governor to issue an order to vacate the remaining four elected member positions at the Town.


    New elections will be held on October 17, 2020.


    The request to vacate is the result of an ongoing situation in the town where the council was suspended in July and Commissioner Fred Riebeling was appointed to administer the town. The council normally has nine elected members.


    The positions of four elected members recently expired at midnight on October 19, when local government elections were held throughout Western Australia. In addition, one of the remaining five councillors has resigned.


    The Town's CEO recently notified Minister Templeman that the council is unable to form a quorum because more than 50 per cent of positions are vacant.


    Comments attributed to Local Government Minister David Templeman:


    "Because the council does not have a quorum as required under the Local Government Act 1995, I will request the Governor to declare the four remaining positions vacant and elections will be held for all nine elected member positions next year, in effect paving the way for an entirely new council.


    "In the meantime, Commissioner Riebeling will continue to administer the town.


    "I have notified all remaining elected members, the CEO and the Commissioner of these actions."


    Minister's office - 6552 5400