Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Former Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

    Top water industry performers recognised

    26/10/2019 8:00 AM
    • Eight winners announced at Australian Water Association WA Water Awards
    • Awards recognise water industry excellence and innovation

    Water Minister Dave Kelly has congratulated the eight winners and all finalists of this year's Australian Water Association Western Australian Water Awards and thanked them for their commitment to innovation and excellence.


    The annual awards, held last night as part of National Water Week celebrations, recognise leaders and innovators in the State's water industry.


    The Water Corporation and Vector Lifting were winners of the Infrastructure Project Innovation Award for the Kununurra Diversion Dam Gantry Crane project. The $4.1 million McGowan Government project upgraded an essential piece of irrigation infrastructure in the Kimberley.


    The winner of the Innovating for Sustainable Water and Environmental Outcomes award was the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale and Wallbridge Gilbert Aztec for its Integrated Water Management Strategy. As one of the fastest growing communities in Australia, the Shire is adopting an integrated water management strategy to manage water supply and infrastructure pressures.


    The Department of Water and Environmental Regulation (DWER) and the Water Corporation were winners of the Program Innovation Award for the Drainage for Liveability program. The program turns stormwater drains and basins into living streams - benefiting the community and environment.


    The Research Innovation Award went to Environmental Engineers International for research into the treatment of highly alkaline industry wastewater through SPORE technology.


    Jen Middleton from the University of Western Australia received the Student Water Prize for her research on unravelling stream ecosystem functioning in urban landscapes, to improve water quality and habitat management.


    The City of Bayswater picked up both the Water Professional of the Year and the Young Water Professional of the Year Awards, won by Jeremy Maher and Rebecca Ferguson respectively.


    The judging panel also awarded a high commendation in the Young Water Professional of the Year category to Nicole Locke from the Water Corporation.


    For more information on the WA Water Award winners, visit http://www.awa.asn.au


    Comments attributed to Water Minister Dave Kelly:


    "These awards are recognition for the innovation and excellence that is happening across the State's water industry - something that is critically important.  


    "As climate change continues to impact on the State, innovative projects and policies are needed to secure our water for future generations of Western Australians.


    "Such innovation and leadership is all part of making Perth a leading Waterwise city by 2030 and securing a Waterwise future for Western Australia.


    "I congratulate all of the winners and wish them the best as they now move on to compete in the National Water Awards."


    Minister's office - 6552 6100