Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Minister for Environment; Disability Services; Electoral Affairs

    New members for Cockburn Sound Management Council

    29/10/2019 2:00 PM
    • Kateryna Longley reappointed as Cockburn Sound Management Council chair
    • Appointments provide wealth of knowledge and expertise
    • Council oversees monitoring program and provides environment advice to Minister

    Environment Minister Stephen Dawson today announced appointments to the Cockburn Sound Management Council, each for a three-year term.


    Returning chairperson Emeritus Professor Kateryna Longley is joined by 16 representatives - new and returning - selected for their knowledge, experience and skills to make up the full council membership.


    Originally established in 2000, the Council oversees the water quality monitoring program and provides advice to the Environment Minister regarding the environmental management of Cockburn Sound. The Department of Water and Environmental Regulation supports the Council in this role.


    The Council is responsible for monitoring, reporting and providing advice on the ongoing health of the Cockburn Sound marine ecosystem.


    The new members bring experience from industry, government, conservation, and the community.


    The knowledge and diversity of perspectives of members on the Council plays a vital role in ensuring a healthy future for Cockburn Sound.


    Comments attributed to Environment Minister Stephen Dawson:


    "I welcome the new and reappointed members to the Cockburn Sound Management Council.


    "Each has a vital voice in ensuring a healthy future for Cockburn Sound, under the expert guidance of reappointed chair Emeritus Professor Kateryna Longley.


    "I look forward to working with this talented team who will provide the State Government with advice on the protection and maintenance of water quality and associated environmental values for the Cockburn Sound marine area."


    Minister's office - 6552 5800


    Cockburn Sound Management Council members are:


    Emeritus Professor Kateryna LongleyIndependent Chair
    Ms Sarah McEvoyDepartment of Water and Environmental Regulation
    Dr Dan GaughanDepartment of Primary Industries and Regional Development
    Dr Michael LindsayDepartment of Health
    Mr Mark SweetmanAustralian Department of Defence
    Mr Denis DoakFremantle Ports
    Dr Julia PhillipsWater Corporation
    Cr Phoebe CorkeCity of Cockburn
    Cr Sandra LeeCity of Kwinana
    Deputy Mayor Deb HamblinCity of Rockingham
    Mr Chris OughtonKwinana Industries Council
    Dr Justin WelshWestern Australian Fishing Industry Council
    Mr Roy RichardsonCockburn Power Boats Association
    Mr Aaron Moses Recfishwest
    Mr Hamish BeckCommunity
    Professor Rhonda MarriottCommunity
    Mr John PolglazeCommunity