Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Minister for Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage

    New appointments to Heritage Council

    4/09/2019 12:00 PM
    • First Heritage Council to be formed under the new Heritage Act 2018
    • Three new members to add to the wealth of heritage knowledge and expertise
    • Appointments support State Government's commitment to gender equity on boards

    Three new members and six returning members have been appointed to the Heritage Council of Western Australia, the first Council to be formed under the new Heritage Act 2018.


    The new members are former President of the WA Legislative Council Hon. John Cowdell, former CEO of Heritage Perth Leigh Barrett, and local historian and author Richard Offen.


    The Heritage Council of Western Australia is the State Government's advisory body on historic heritage matters. The Council comprises nine people appointed by the Minister for Heritage, based on their knowledge, experience and skills.


    Anne Arnold will continue as Heritage Council Chair until the end of 2019, ensuring there is continuity between the former and new Heritage Councils.


    Heritage Council of Western Australian members are:


    Anne Arnold                Reappointed as Chair

    Leigh Barrett               New member

    Lloyd Clark                  Reappointed

    Hon. John Cowdell     New member

    Sally Malone               Reappointed

    Jennifer Marschner     Reappointed

    Nerida Moredoundt     Reappointed

    Richard Offen             New member

    Dr Brad Pettitt             Reappointed


    Comments attributed to Heritage Minister David Templeman:


    "This is the first Heritage Council to be appointed under the new Heritage Act 2018. The mix of new and existing board members brings a balance of skills, experience and innovation to the Council's work of advising the Government on heritage matters and making recommendations regarding places on the State Heritage Register.


    "I thank outgoing Council members Rob Druitt, Philip Griffiths, and Professor John Stephens for giving their time and expertise to Western Australia's heritage through their service on the Heritage Council. I particularly acknowledge Mr Griffiths who has contributed his time and enthusiasm to the Council for 27 years.


    "With five women and four men making up the new Council the State Government continues its commitment to increasing the representation of women on government boards." 


    Minister's office - 6552 5400