Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Minister for Environment; Disability Services; Electoral Affairs

    New members sought for WA Contaminated Sites Committee

    27/08/2019 3:00 PM
    • New members sought for key environmental committee
    • The committee was established in 2006 to protect public health and the environment

    The McGowan Government is seeking expressions of interest to join Western Australia's Contaminated Sites Committee, which determines appeals of contaminated site matters.


    The independent committee, established in 2006 under the Contaminated Sites Act 2003, makes decisions when there is disagreement regarding clean up and remediation responsibilities and classifications of contaminated sites.


    All Contaminated Sites Committee members' roles expire shortly, with three in October and two, including the chairperson, in December so there is an opportunity to get involved. 


    As the issues can be complex, the State Government is seeking committee members with knowledge, skills and expertise in environmental or contaminated site management or auditors, as well as legal practitioners, preferably with experience in environmental or property law.


    The Committee will be appointed by the Environment Minister and expressions of interest close at 5pm on Friday, September 20, 2019. For more information contact the Contaminated Sites Committee on 6364 7264, email admin@csc.wa.gov.au or visit http://www.csc.wa.gov.au


    Comments attributed to Environment Minister Stephen Dawson:


    "WA's Contaminated Sites Act makes it compulsory to report known or suspected contaminated sites, making this among the most progressive contaminated sites legislation in Australia.


    "Since the Act was introduced, responsibility for cleaning up contamination has been very clear: if you cause the contamination, you are responsible for remediation.


    "The committee has acted effectively in resolving more than 150 appeals over more than a decade and the new members will no doubt play an important role in ensuring this continues."


    Minister's office - 6552 5800